sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsAFG vs IRE: Afghanistan announces squad for T20I series; Ibrahim, Shahidi, Naveen...

AFG vs IRE: Afghanistan announces squad for T20I series; Ibrahim, Shahidi, Naveen make comeback

sponsor banner
ads banner

AFG vs IRE: The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) have announced their squad for the upcoming T20 International series against Ireland. Frontline batsmen Ibrahim Zadran and Hashmatullah Shahidi along with paceman Naveen-ul-Haq are set to make a comeback after their inclusion in the 16-member squad.

Notably, Zadran, Shahidi and Haq have been performing stupendously in their respective domestic leagues. The top-order batsmen will strengthen Afghanistan’s batting order whereas Haq will add some pace in the depth.

Ibrahim Zadran had last played a T-20I against West Indies in 2019. Since then, his international appearances have been limited. Zadran looked in exquisite touch in the ongoing Shpageeza Cricket League where he stood as the third highest run scorer with a total of 283 and was also included in the squad for the Zimbabwe ODI series.

Hashmatullah Shahidi made his last T-20I appearance for Afghanistan in March 2021. He has been performing exceptionally well at the domestic circuit and had also made way into the squad for the Zimbabwe series alongside Zadran.

Pacer Naveen-ul-Haq had also been out of action for Afghanistan since November 2021. Haq had a marvellous T-20 Blast season in England where he was the second highest wicket-taker in the championship where he scalped 24 wickets in 14 matches for Leicestershire.

The spinning duo of Qais Ahmed and Mujeeb-ur-Rahman have been named as the reserves. The two failed to make to the Zimbabwe ODI series following their T-20 Blast commitments. Usman Ghani and Nijat Masood will also travel alongside Ahmed and Rahman as reserves.

Veteran all-rounder Mohammed Nabi will continue to lead the Afghanistani side for the Ireland series. Meanwhile, former skipper Gulbadin Naib has been dropped once again after his string of poor scores at the Shpageeza Cricket League.

AFG vs IRE: Afghanisthan Squad

Here is Afghanistan’s squad for the T-20I series against Ireland:

Afghanistan squad: Mohammad Nabi (capt), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Darwish Rasooli, Najibullah Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Karim Janat, Azmatullah Omarzai, Noor Ahmed Sharfuddin Ashraf, Rashid Khan, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Farid Ahmed Malik, Naveen ul Haq

The T-20 International series between Afghanistan and Ireland will be comprised of five games. The series will kickstart on 9th August.

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!