sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsAfghanistan T20 World Cup squad announced; Md Nabi to lead

Afghanistan T20 World Cup squad announced; Md Nabi to lead

sponsor banner
ads banner

Afghanistan has named a 15-man roster for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, which begins on October 16 in Australia. Mohammad Nabi, who captained Afghanistan at the just-finished Asia Cup 2022, takes over as captain once more.

Samiullah Shinwari, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Karim Janat, and Noor Ahmad, all members of the Asia Cup squad, are not included.

Meanwhile, Darwish Rasooli, all-rounder Qais Ahmad, and right-arm quick Salim Safi have been added to the squad.

Rasooli, 22, earned his international debut earlier this year after recovering from a finger injury. He put up strong performances in the Shpageeza Cricket League 2022.

Qais Ahmed returns to the squad after missing a T20I against Bangladesh in March 2022, while Safi, 20, has earned his first international call-up.

Travelling reserves include Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Rahmat Shah, and Gulbadin Naib. While the rest of the squad is made up of known faces.

“The Asia Cup was a very good opportunity for the team to build up things nicely for the much-important global event in Australia,” Chief selector Noor Malikzai said.

“Fortunately, Darwish Rasooli has recovered from injury (broken finger) and we are happy to have him available for the WT20, he has demonstrated good glimpses of him in the previously held Shpageeza Cricket League 2022 and offers an additional batting option to our middle order,” he concluded.

Afghanistan is in Group 1 of the T20 World Cup and will kick off its campaign against England on October 22 in Perth. They had a mediocre season last year, finishing fourth in Group 2 with two victories in five games.

Afghanistan T20 World Cup Squad:

Mohammad Nabi (c), Najibullah Zadran (vc), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Qais Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Salim Safi, Usman Ghani

Afghanistan’s schedule for 2022 T20 World Cup:

  • 22 October – Afghanistan v England, Perth
  • 26 October – Afghanistan v New Zealand, Melbourne
  • 28 October – Afghanistan v TBA, Melbourne
  • 01 November – Afghanistan v TBA, Brisbane
  • 04 November – Afghanistan v Australia, Adelaide

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more