sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsAjinkya Rahane to lead West Zone in Duleep Trophy 2022

Ajinkya Rahane to lead West Zone in Duleep Trophy 2022

sponsor banner
ads banner

Ajinkya Rahane, who is back in shape, will captain a strong West Zone team in the Duleep Trophy. It will be played in Tamil Nadu from September 8 to 25.

Rahane is currently recovering from a groyne injury. According to a PTI story from last Sunday, he will return to competitive cricket in the Duleep Trophy.

Rahane has not participated in a competitive game of cricket since suffering an injury in May. This was while he was playing for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL. Due to his injury, he was unable to play in Mumbai’s Ranji Trophy semifinals.

Mumbai ultimately placed second, and numerous players from that team have been chosen. The list includes internationals Prithvi Shaw and Shardul Thakur. Yashashvi Jaiswal, Shams Mulani, Hardik Tamore, and Tanush Kotian are other Mumbai natives on the team.

The West Zone squad includes veteran pacer Jaydev Unadkat and Rahul Tripathi from Saurashtra. Tripathi has just made it to the national team for the Zimbabwe ODIs.

The Central Zone squad was also revealed, and it featured many of the players who helped Madhya Pradesh win the Ranji Trophy. It includes Yash Dubey, Shubham Sharma, Kumar Kartikeya, and Venkatesh Iyer.

West Zone squad: Ajinkya Rahane (capt; Mumbai), Prithvi Shaw (Mumbai), Yashasvi Jaiswal (Mumbai), Shreyas Iyer (Mumbai), Hardik Tamore (wk; Mumbai), Shams Mulani (Mumbai), Tanush Kotian (Mumbai), Shardul Thakur (Mumbai), Rahul Tripathi (Maharashtra), Satyajeet Bachhav (Maharashtra), Het Patel (Gujarat), Chintan Gaja (Gujarat), Jaydev Unadkat (Saurashtra), Chirag Jani (Saurashtra), Atit Sheth (Baroda)

Central Zone squad: Karan Sharma (capt; Uttar Pradesh), Shubham Sharma (vice-capt; Madhya Pradesh), Himanshu Mantri (wk; Madhya Pradesh), Yash Dubey (Madhya Pradesh), Priyam Garg (Uttar Pradesh), Rinku Singh (Uttar Pradesh), Ashok Menaria (Rajasthan), Akshay Wadkar (wk; Vidarbha), Gaurav Yadav (Madhya Pradesh), Venkatesh Iyer (Madhya Pradesh), Deepak Dhapola (Uttarakhand), Aniket Choudhary (Rajasthan), Kumar Kartikeya (Madhya Pradesh), Aditya Sarwate (Vidarbha), Ankit Rajpoot (Uttar Pradesh)

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.