sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsAthapaththu, Khaka, and Luus brought in for Women's CPL & 6ixty

Athapaththu, Khaka, and Luus brought in for Women’s CPL & 6ixty

sponsor banner
ads banner

As many as nine overseas players will be taking part in the inaugural edition of the Women’s CPL. Sri Lankan captain, Chamari Athapaththu, and the South African trio of Ayabonga Khaka, Sune Luus, and Chloe Tryon will be some of the major attractions.

The nine players are split into three teams and they will also be involved in the new T10 tournament, called the 6ixty. The matches will be taking place from 24th August to 4th September 2022.

Notably, the big names in women’s cricket are currently playing in The Hundred tournament. That will be ending on 3rd September 2022. The captains of Women’s CPL teams Barbados Royals and Trinbago Knight, Hayley Mathews and Deandra Dottin respectively, are both playing in The Hundred tournament but are expected to cut short their return and come back to the Caribbean soon.

The highest run-getter in Sri Lankan women’s cricket in the shortest format, Athapaththu will be joining Ayabonga Khaka at Guyana Amazon Warriors. The team will be led by Stephanie Taylor.

Luus, on the other hand, will be playing alongside Hayley Jensen, who played an instrumental role in helping New Zealand pocket a Bronze medal at the Commonwealth Games. Luus has 48 wickets in 92 T20 internationals so far.

The South African veteran cricketer, Tyron, and Fatima Sana will be part of the Royals family. The former has the experience of playing 174 international matches for her nation.

Barbados Royals: Hayley Matthews (capt), Shakera Selman (vice-capt), Fatima Sana (Pakistan), Chloe Tryon (South Africa), Snigdha Paul (USA), Reneice Boyce, Mandy Rangru, Britney Cooper, Aaliyah Alleyne, Shanika Bruce, Afy Fletcher, Qiana Joseph, Japhina Joseph, Chinelle Henry

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Stafanie Taylor (capt), Shermaine Campbell (vice-capt), Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Ayabonga Khaka (South Africa), Isani Vaghela (USA), Rashada Williams, Rachel Vincent, Kaycia Schultz, Chedean Nationa, Cherry-Ann Fraser, Shamilla Connell, Karishma Ramharak, Shabika Gajnabi, Zaida James

Trinbago Knight Riders: Deandra Dottin (capt), Anisa Mohammed (vice-capt), Hayley Jensen (New Zealand), Sune Luus (South Africa), Geetika Kodali (USA), Lee Ann Kirby, Kyshona Knight, Kycia Knight, Natasha McLean, Sheneta Grimmond, Caneisha Isaac, Jannillea Glasgow, Steffie Soogrim, Shawnisha Hector

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!


Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.