sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsMen Cricket NewsAUS v AFG T20 World Cup: Australia v Afghanistan, Match 38 Preview

AUS v AFG T20 World Cup: Australia v Afghanistan, Match 38 Preview

sponsor banner
ads banner

AUS v AFG: Australia will be taking on Afghanistan in the 38th match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 at Adelaide Oval on Friday. They are currently third on the table and have an equal number of points with New Zealand and England. However, their net run rate is a concern and thus they would want either New Zealand or England to lose their last match.

Australia are ought to win against Afghanistan by a huge margin to give themselves a chance of reaching the semis. Aaron Finch and Co. haven’t played like world champions in the tournament. They have got 2 wins in 4 matches but the loss against New Zealand would have hurt them badly. The poor form of David Warner has been the biggest reason why they are sitting third on the table.

In their last attempt to reach the semis, Warner ought to produce a magical knock on Friday to guide the team to a mammoth total. His partner, Aaron Finch played a blistering knock in the last match and that should have given him some confidence. Mitchell Marsh and Glenn Maxwell haven’t fired either and it would be difficult for them to play against a potent spin attack from Australia.

As for the bowling, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Hazlewood should form the pace bowling trio. Pat Cummins hasn’t been at his best and it will be interesting to see how he fares at Adelaide. No Australian is on the list of the top 15 wicket-takers in the tournament and that tells you the situation right now.

Afghanistan, on the other hand, would be dependent on their spin attack to pick the bulk of the wickets. For Rashid Khan, Adelaide is no less than his home ground and he is expected to make great returns.  Batting hasn’t fired for them and that could well cost them the game on Friday.

AUS v AFG Predicted XI


David Warner, Aaron Finch (c), Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood


Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Usman Ghani, Ibrahim Zadran, Najibullah Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi (c), Rashid Khan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Fareed Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.