sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsAUS vs WI: Australia squad for home series against West Indies announced

AUS vs WI: Australia squad for home series against West Indies announced

sponsor banner
ads banner

AUS vs WI: Australia is all pumped up for The T20 World Cup 2022 after playing the T20I series against India. The team has declared that they are all set to face West Indies in a two-match T20I series. This will be a build-up for the upcoming magnific tournament.

The series will commence on 5th October. The first match will be held at Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast. On the other hand, the second match will take place at The Gabba in Brisbane.

The hosts and England will also be playing a three-match series which begins on October 9. It will proceed as planned.

The champions have released the full list of their 16-man squad for the series versus West Indies. David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, and Mitchell Starc are back on the team after sitting out the series against India.

All-rounder Cameron Green, who thrived during the India tour in his new role as the opener, is a part of the announced team. Josh Inglis, Daniel Sams, and Tim David who made his debut for Australia are all members of the squad.

Marcus Stoinis and Mitchell Starc return

Marcus Stoinis and Mitchell Starc both recovered from side strains and ankle injuries respectively. On the other hand, Mitchell Marsh healed from a knee injury.

Australian selector George Bailey stated that the team has a cautious approach. This is in order to try and reduce the chance of injuries with the World Cup just around the corner.

Bailey said: “We have and are taking a cautious approach with the World Cup on the near horizon. To have four key players return gives us the ability to take a conservative path with any minor issues and resolve those well in time for the World Cup.”

With the World Cup just around the corner, this series will be a good warm-up for both teams.

AUS vs WI (Australia’s squad):

Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.