sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsAustralia announces 21-man squad for limited-overs series against England in September

Australia announces 21-man squad for limited-overs series against England in September

sponsor banner
ads banner

Cricket Australia (CA) on Friday announced the 21-man squad for their upcoming limited-overs series against England comprising three T20Is and as many ODIs. The series will take place in September starting with the T20I series.

Following the footsteps of England, West Indies and Pakistan, Australia is ready to resume international cricketing activities with the tour of England being their first task.

Australia is set to play England in a limited-overs series including ODIs and T20Is in September which would mark the return of the Kangaroos on the international circuit for the first time since the Coronavirus outbreak began in March.

Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe and Daniel Sams all in line for international first appearance as Australia name a 21-player squad to join England’s bio-secure bubble.

A trio of new Big Bash League stars will strive for international debuts while Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Lyon and Marcus Stoinis are in line for reminiscences for the Australian men’s team’s first international matches in nearly six months.

Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams and Riley Meredith have all been named in large 21-man on tour party for the limited-overs series against England that was established on Friday and will get started on September 4.

D’Arcy Short the most prominent omission from the preliminary 26-man preliminary squad CA named for the visit last month while Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Michael Neser and Ben McDermott too missed out.

Australia’s T20 and ODI squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Cricket Australia (CA) acknowledged government exclusions for the team to travel to the UK this week for the six-game (three T20s, three ODIs) tour which will be played beneath stern biosecurity provisions.

After four warm-up matches in Derby, the Aussies will play three T20s at the Rose Bowl in Southampton before three ODIs at Old Trafford in Manchester. Both those locations have hotels on-site.

The ODIs will form part of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) new ODI Super League, which England kicked off with their first ODI series since the pandemic against Ireland.