sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsAustralia v Zimbabwe ODI: Muzaraban returns as Zimbabwe name squad

Australia v Zimbabwe ODI: Muzaraban returns as Zimbabwe name squad

sponsor banner
ads banner

Australia v Zimbabwe ODI series: Zimbabwe Cricket has named a 15-member squad for their upcoming three-match ODI series against Australia starting August 28 in Townsville.

Fast bowler Blessing Muzaraban has returned to the squad that set off for Australia on Tuesday morning after recuperating from a torn thigh muscle. He is the lone addition to the team that played India in the recently concluded ODI series in Harare. Tanaka Chivanga and John Masara remained at home as non-travelling reserves.

Due to hamstring, collarbone fracture, shoulder tendon, and quadricep injuries, respectively, Craig Ervine, Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza, and Milton Shumba are still out of commission.

Regis Chakabva will captain Zimbabwe in place of Ervine for the three one-day internationals against Australia that are slated to take place in Townsville on the 28th, 31st, and 3rd of September.

The forthcoming series was originally intended to begin in the middle of 2020 and was then moved to last year, but COVID-19 constraints prevented either effort from taking place.

On a side note, the series will mark Australia’s first ODI series on the home turf in over two years and the first time a senior Australian men’s team has played in Townsville. The last home ODI series the Aaron Finch-led outfit played was in 2020 when they defeated India in 2020.

The series is part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, serving as the main route for direct qualification for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 to be staged in India.

Zimbabwe squad: Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva (captain), Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams.

Australia v Zimbabwe ODI Series Schedule

Sunday, Aug 28: Riverway Stadium, Townsville

Wednesday, Aug 31: Riverway Stadium, Townsville

Saturday, Sep 3: Riverway Stadium, Townsville

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.