sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsBBL 12 Schedule released; Sydney Thunder to take on Melbourne Stars in...

BBL 12 Schedule released; Sydney Thunder to take on Melbourne Stars in the opening game

sponsor banner
ads banner

BBL 12 Schedule: The 12th season of the Big Bash League is all set to begin on Tuesday (December 13) while the final will take place on February 4. Cricket Australia has stated that they are prioritising the return of spectators to grounds after two years affected by COVID. The season will begin with an opening match where Sydney Thunder will face the Melbourne Stars. The first game of the season will take place at the Manuka Oval.

This year’s new season will be played at 17 different locations, including three brand-new ones. The venues are North Sydney Oval, Cazalys Stadium in Cairns, and Lavington Sports Ground in Albury. These locations will serve as the home sites for the Sydney Thunder, Brisbane Heat, and Sydney Sixers, respectively.

“The KFC BBL|12 seasons is setting up to have everything we love about the Big Bash – great players, full stadiums of home fans and the best nights of entertainment anywhere this summer,” Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager of Big Bash Leagues, said.

“This schedule provides the platform for that, with a mix of world-class stadiums and regional venues, opportunities for player participation and all the marquee games that our fans love,” he added with spectators to be able to witness seven home matches this season.

“This, combined with other exciting developments in including the KFC BBL|12 Draft for overseas players, make us incredibly excited for the season ahead.”

BBL 12 Schedule does not collide much with Australia’s International fixtures

“The schedule also includes minimal overlap with men’s and women’s international cricket, providing a fan-friendly viewing schedule and opportunities for players to take part in the BBL,” a Cricket Australia release stated.

Perth Scorchers defeated Sydney Sixers, in the Big Bash League championship game to win their fourth championship.

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.