sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsBBL 2022-23: Adam Zampa, Jason Sangha appointed leadership roles

BBL 2022-23: Adam Zampa, Jason Sangha appointed leadership roles

sponsor banner
ads banner

Australian cricketer Adam Zampa has been appointed as the captain of the Melbourne Stars franchise whereas rookie batsman Jason Sangha has been named as the skipper for the Sydney Thunders franchise at the upcoming edition of the Big Bash League (BBL) 2022-23.

The appointment of Jason Sangha, 23, has truly been one of the most fascinating decisions at the BBL. Senior frontline batsman David Warner was considered the front-runner but his captaincy ban would have undermined the abilities of the franchise though Cricket Australia overturned it recently.

Jason Sangha has been an emerging and bankable batsman for the Thunders. With Khwaja moving to Brisbane Heat, Sangha will likely take on additional responsibilities on his shoulder. He was the highest run scorer for the side in the previous edition where he scored 445 runs and also led the franchise on three occasions where Khwaja was unavailable and his deputy Cameron Green was diagnosed with Covid-19.

BBL 2022-23: Adam Zampa named captain of Melbourne Stars

On the other side, Adam Zampa has been appointed as the captain of the Melbourne Stars franchise as regular skipper Glenn Maxwell has been ruled out of the series after a fractured leg. Since Zampa is a white-ball specialist player for Australia, he will likely remain available throughout the championship.

Adam Zampa is also one of the probable candidates to lead Australia in the ODI and T-20I. It is believed that his name is in contention with the national selection committee. Zampa led Melbourne Stars to a victory against Adelaide Strikers as his only captaincy stint in the previous edition.

Jason Sangha and Adam Zampa were both delighted after their appointment. While Sangha will gain experience with responsibilities, Zampa will aim to pull out a result in order to stand his chances for national captaincy. The BBL 2022-23 is set to kickstart on December 13 where Sydney Thunders will take on Melbourne Stars in the inaugural fixture.

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and WTC 2023 Finals Updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.