sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsBBL 2022 to kickstart in mid-December; schedule released

BBL 2022 to kickstart in mid-December; schedule released

sponsor banner
ads banner

The much anticipated season of the Big Bash League (BBL) 2022 is scheduled to return in mid-December with an aim to bring the crowd back into the stadiums after the covid disruption. Normally beginning at the end of November, the upcoming edition will start on December 14 and end in early February.

The previous edition of BBL began in early December and ended in January end. The upcoming season is in the purview of the national cricketers standing a chance to play in the championship. Another major concern is the attendance of crowds.

Cricket Australia spokesperson Alistair Dobson addressed the media after the release of the BBL 2023 schedule. He said that the decision to postpone the start was taken so that it aligns with the winter vacation and the crowd attendance normalizes to the pre-covid era.

Sydney Thunders will take on Melbourne Stars in the opening game of the tournament on December 14. The match is scheduled right after the end of the Australian series against the West Indies. This clearly signifies that the national team members will join their franchises at the start of the season.

The South African series that was scheduled in January has also been cancelled, meaning that top players including Aaron Finch, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, David Warner, Pat Cummins and Josh Hazelwood will too feature in the entire season.

Australia will likely tour India only after the finals of the Big Bash League 2023. Perth Scorchers clinched the title in 2021 and will take on Sydney Sixers in their opening game. 

The playoffs will begin at the end of January, i.e. 27th. The Final will be likely played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 4th February 2022.

Here is the complete schedule of the Big Bash League (BBL) 2022-23:

December 13: Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Stars, Manuka Oval

December 14: Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Sixers, Adelaide Oval

December 15: Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne Renegades, Cazalys Stadium (Cairns)

December 16: Melbourne Stars vs Hobart Hurricanes, MCG

December 16: Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers, Sydney Showground

December 17: Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers, Optus Stadium

December 18: Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder, Marvel Stadium

December 19: Hobart Hurricanes vs Perth Scorchers, University of Tasmania Stadium

December 20: Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder, Adelaide Oval

December 21: Melbourne Renegades vs Brisbane Heat, GMHBA Stadium (Geelong)

December 22: Sydney Sixers vs Hobart Hurricanes, SCG

December 23: Melbourne Stars vs Perth Scorchers, CitiPower Centre

December 23: Brisbane Heat vs Adelaide Strikers, Gabba

December 24: Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Renegades, Blundstone Arena

December 26: Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne Stars, SCG

December 26: Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide Strikers, Optus Stadium

December 27: Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat, Sydney Showground

December 28: Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne Renegades, SCG

December 29: Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder, Metricon Stadium

December 29: Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne Stars, Optus Stadium

December 30: Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Sixers, GMHBA Stadium (Geelong)

December 31: Sydney Thunder vs Hobart Hurricanes, Lavington Sports Ground (Albury)

December 31: Adelaide Striker vs Melbourne Stars, Adelaide Oval

January 1: Melbourne Renegades vs Perth Scorchers, Marvel Stadium

January 1: Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Sixers, Gabba

January 2: Hobart Hurricanes vs Adelaide Strikers, Blundstone Arena

January 3: Melbourne Stars vs Melbourne Renegades, MCG

January 4: Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane Heat, North Sydney Oval

January 4: Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Thunder, Optus Stadium

January 5: Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes, Adelaide Oval

January 6: Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Sixers, MCG

January 7: Melbourne Renegades vs Hobart Hurricanes, Marvel Stadium

January 7: Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat, Optus Stadium

January 8: Sydney Thunder vs Sydney Sixers, Sydney Showground

January 9: Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Stars, Blundstone Arena

January 10: Adelaide Strikers vs Melbourne Renegades, Adelaide Oval

January 11: Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers, Gabba

January 12: Melbourne Stars vs Adelaide Strikers, MCG

January 13: Sydney Thunder vs Perth Scorchers, Sydney Showground

January 14: Adelaide Strikers vs Brisbane Heat, Adelaide Oval

January 14: Melbourne Renegades vs Melbourne Stars, Marvel Stadium

January 15: Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Thunder, Blundstone Arena

January 15: Sydney Sixers vs Perth Scorchers, SCG

January 16: Melbourne Stars vs Brisbane Heat, MCG

January 17: Sydney Sixers vs Adelaide Strikers, C.ex Coffs International Stadium

January 18: Perth Scorchers vs Hobart Hurricanes, Optus Stadium

January 19: Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Renegades, Manuka Oval

January 20: Adelaide Strikers vs Perth Scorchers, Adelaide Oval

January 20: Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes, Gabba

January 21: Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder, SCG

January 22: Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne Stars, Gabba

January 22: Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne Renegades, Optus Stadium

January 23: Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Sixers, Blundstone Arena

January 24: Melbourne Renegades vs Adelaide Strikers, Marvel Stadium

January 25: Hobart Hurricanes vs Brisbane Heat, University of Tasmania Stadium

January 25: Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder, MCG

January 27: Eliminator, TBC

January 28: Qualifier, TBC

January 29: Knockout, TBC

February 2: Challenger, TBC

February 4: The Final, TBC

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.