sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsBCCI announces Asia Cup 2022 India squad; Kohli and Rahul return

BCCI announces Asia Cup 2022 India squad; Kohli and Rahul return

sponsor banner
ads banner

Asia Cup 2022 India squad: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) named the squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2022 on Monday, August 8.

In a major boost for the team, the 15-member squad sees the comeback of former captain Virat Kohli and KL Rahul, both of whom had been out of action lately. While Kohli was rested for the recently-concluded eight-match white ball against West Indies, Rahul is returning after combating his groin injury due to which he had to undergo surgery in June. He was also recovering from Covid-19.

India will be missing their spearhead bowler Jasprit Bumrah for the Asia Cup due to a back issue. According to sources privy to the player, Bumrah has been suffering from back spasms for some time and the selectors decided not to risk aggravating his ailment by including him in the squad. Bumrah’s injury had also caused him to miss out on the series against the West Indies.

Aside from Bumrah, another speed specialist, Harshal Patel, would also be missing out on the Continental Championship due to a side strain. Due to his injury, he was rested for the T20I series against West Indies. Both players are undergoing rehab at the NCA, Bengaluru.

“Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel were not available for selection owing to injuries. They are currently undergoing rehab at the NCA in Bengaluru,” stated a BCCI media release on Monday (August 8).

With Patel and Bumrah out, India is left with four fast-bowling options, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh and Avesh Khan. To bolster the squad further, in-from spin-specialist Ravichandran Ashwin has also been retained in the squad. Among other spin-bowlers, the squad has included Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Ravi Bishnoi.

Among anticipated players who failed to make the cut include Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson. Ishan Kishan had recently featured in the fifth T20I against West Indies.

India will begin their Asia Cup 2022 campaign on August 28 against their arch-rivals Pakistan in Dubai.

Asia Cup 2022 India Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Deepak Hooda, Yuzvendra Chahal

The board has named three players as standbys, including, Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar.

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.