sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsBCCI announces squad for WI series; Kohli and Bumrah to be rested

BCCI announces squad for WI series; Kohli and Bumrah to be rested

sponsor banner
ads banner

The Board of Cricket Control for India (BCCI) has announced the Indian squad for the limited-overs tour to West Indies. India is scheduled to play three ODI and five T-20 matches in the month of July and August. The initial part of the tour will take place on the Caribbean island whereas the series will conclude with the two T-20 matches in the United States of America.

The selection committee has announced that senior players Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah will be rested for the series. Frontline leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has also been rested whereas the squad consists of five other spinners.

The BCCI and selection committee has selected a young and evolving squad in the purview of the upcoming T-20 World Cup in Australia. Barring Kohli, Bumrah and Chahal, every player’s performance will be keenly monitored to set the correct combination.

Speaking on Virat Kohli, the selectors asserted the fact that the former skipper needs rest after a hectic season. He will likely feature in the Asia Cup that is scheduled in September-October. Jasprit Bumrah will also comeback at the Asia Cup.

BCCI has also included KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav in the squad. Both the players have sustained injuries and are currently under rehabilitation. The inclusion of Rahul and Yadav is under their fitness circumstances.

Notably, five spinners will play have been selected in the Indian squad. As Chahal will be on rest, they will likely get an opportunity to feature in the XI. The five spinners are Kuldeep Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja.

The Indian contingent will be lead by incumbent captain Rohit Sharma. Here is the complete Indian squad for the West Indies series:

Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), I Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, D Hooda, S Iyer, D Karthik, R Pant, H Pandya, R Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, R Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, B Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

India vs West Indies Series schedule:

ODI Series

1st ODI: 22nd July, Queens Park

2nd ODI: 24th July, Queens Park

3rd ODI: 27th July, Queens Park

T-20 Series

1st T-20: 29th July, Trinidad

2nd T-20: 1st August, St Kitts

3rd T-20: 2nd August, St Kitts

4th T-20: 6th August, Florida

5th T-20: 7th August, Florida

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!