sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsBCCI gears up preparations for Women’s IPL; books window in March

BCCI gears up preparations for Women’s IPL; books window in March

sponsor banner
ads banner

The Board of Cricket Control for India (BCCI) has reserved a window for senior women’s cricket to boost the preparations for the inaugural edition of the Women’s Indian Premier League (IPL). The apex cricket governing body has been in continuous consultation with the IPL organizing committee and is in the process to get the show on for the Indian viewers.

The BCCI has already amended the domestic calendar for senior women’s cricket. This attempt is primarily to accommodate the first edition of Women’s IPL. The senior women’s domestic cricket is usually conducted from November to April but the upcoming season will begin a month early in October to match the needs of IPL.

The 2022-23 domestic season for women’s cricket will kick start on 11 October with the T-20 Championship. It will be followed by the ODI tournament and finally conclude with the inter-zonal One Day competition that will end in mid-February.

The ever-growing popularity of women’s cricket in India is adding glamour to the clamour for the T-20 format. Initially, the BCCI has been hosting the Women’s T-20 Challenge since 2018. Starting off as a one-off competition between two sides, the latest edition of the tournament saw three sides battling for prestige, namely Velocity, Trailblazers and Supernovas.

Women’s IPL will truly develop the striving youth talent in the country where they will get a platform to express themselves. Earlier in the year, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly had hinted at a full-fledged Women’s IPL in 2023. The former Indian skipper has stuck to his words and confirmed that Indian women cricketers will now play a wholesome T-20 tournament.

A number of IPL franchises have displayed their interest in owning a team in the women’s edition of the league. The owners of Rajasthan Royals as well as Barbados Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders have willingly expressed their interest to take a part in the league. Till now, three franchises are confirmed and more will be added soon.

IPL Secretary Jay Shah had asserted that the Women’s IPL will be a two-month long tournament with five to six teams. The current IPL franchises will be given the primary rights to apply for a franchise. It will be interesting to watch evolving Indian talent including Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Shefali Varma, Deepti Sharma, etc. entertaining the crowds and leading their teams to win.

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.