sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsChris Lynn, Hetmyer, Jordan join Gulf Giants squad in ILT20

Chris Lynn, Hetmyer, Jordan join Gulf Giants squad in ILT20

sponsor banner
ads banner

The Adani Sportsline-owned Gulf Giants squad in the International League T20 (ILT20) released an update about their squad on Wednesday. They have added Australian batter, Chris Lynn, to their roster of 14 foreign players for the 2023 season.

Contrary to prior reports, Lynn was the sole Australian nominated for the ILT20. CA claimed it had not received a NOC request from Lynn allowing him to compete in the UAE’s tournament. Lynn does not have a BBL contract since he was released by the Brisbane Heat. He has accumulated 6656 runs in 241 T20s at a strike rate of 143.38.

Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Jordan, David Wiese, Ollie Pope, and Qais Ahmed have also joined the team. Andy Flower, a former captain of Zimbabwe who has played cricket for three decades, will be the team’s head coach.

In the IPL 2022, the 54-year-old also served as the team’s head coach for the Lucknow Super Giants. He formerly served as the head coach of the national teams of Afghanistan and England.

“It’s exciting to be a part of any of the big franchise tournaments, and the ILT20 has big plans to be a major franchise tournament. As leaders, our job is to serve the players as best we can, and this principle is very important to me,” Flower said.

A 34-match schedule will be used for the first ILT20 tournament in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah. Reliance Industries Limited, Lancer Capital, the GMR Group, Adani Sportsline, Kolkata Knight Riders, and Capri Global are among the six league teams’ owners.

After the MI Emirates and Abu Dhabi Knight Riders, Giants is the third team to name their roster of foreign players.

Gulf Giants squad:

Shimron Hetmyer (West Indies), Chris Jordan (West Indies), Chris Lynn (Australia), Tom Banton (England), Dominic Drakes (West Indies), David Weise (Namibia), Jamie Overton (England), Richard Gleeson (England), Rehan Ahmed (England), Wayne Madsen (Italy), Liam Dawson (England), Ollie Pope (England), James Vince (England), Qais Ahmed (Afghanistan)

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.