sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsCPL 2020 Finals: Trinbago Knight Riders win 4th title after beating St...

CPL 2020 Finals: Trinbago Knight Riders win 4th title after beating St Lucia Zouks by 8 wickets

sponsor banner
ads banner

Trinbago Knight Riders defeated St Lucia Zouks in the finals of the Caribbean Premier League 2020 on Thursday. Opener Lendl Simmons and Daren Bravo scored half-centuries to power the side into winning the title this season.

After winning the toss, Kieron Pollard decided to bowl first and preferred chasing the target at the Brian Lara Stadium.

Put into bat, St Lucia lost their opener Rahkeem Cornwall when the score was just 10 runs. Mark Deyal (29) and Andre Fletcher (39) combined together to build a partnership of 67 runs. No other batsman managed to go past 30-run mark as St Lucia were bowled out on 154 runs.

Pollard was the pick among the bowlers as he finished with 4/30, while Ali Khan and Fawad Ahmed picked a couple of wickets each.

Knight Riders had a fair chance of winning the match as well as their fourth title in the history of the tournament.

During Trinbago’s batting, Lendl Simmons came in to bat and smashed an unbeaten 84 runs off 49 balls including 8 boundaries and four sixes.

Trinbago batsmen were never in adversity throughout their innings despite losing two wickets within one over as Simmons made sure of keeping the scored card clocking.

Lendl Simmons’s good run continued

Knight Riders were 19/2 but then Darren Bravo and Simmons took less than two overs to settle down during the power-play overs. After that, both the batsmen went on attacking spree and punished Lucia bowlers with massive sixes.

The former champions chased down the target with 11 balls remaining and also lifted their fourth title of the tournament. Simmons was adjudged the Man of the Match for his match-winning knock in the crucial game.

He also finished as the leading run scorer in the tournament with 356 runs while his team-mate Darren Bravo compiled 297 runs.