sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsCricket Ireland announces squad for ICC Men's T20 World Cup

Cricket Ireland announces squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

sponsor banner
ads banner

Cricket Ireland on Friday announced their final 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup set to kick start on October 17 in the UAE.

Notable names including Shane Getkate, Graham Kennedy, and Barry McCarthy failed to make the cut. The Ireland selectors have named Andrew Balbairnie as the team captain. The three players have been named as reserves for the showpiece event. The squad will be trimmed for their three-match bilateral T20I series, starting October 7 in the UAE.

Andrew White, Chair of National Men’s Selectors of Cricket Ireland, said:

“It was always going to be a very difficult decision to reduce the squad from 18 to 15 – every player out in Dubai at the moment has proven their talent and deserved their chance. The three players who have missed out will still have a role to play in supporting the core squad, and stay on within the team bubble as cover in case of injury or illness.”

“Part of the selectors’ decision-making was around the conditions in both Abu Dhabi and Sharjah, but we also factored in [Head Coach] Graham Ford’s on-the-ground assessment of what he believes to be our most effective combination of players to win games of cricket.”

“We are confident that the squad of players selected have the ability and the determination to take us into the next round of the tournament, but ultimately it will be about putting together performances that are deserving of it. We wish Fordy and the lads all the best for the challenge ahead, and we’re sure they will do Irish cricket proud.”

Ireland will begin their T20 World Cup campaign on October 12 with a warm-up fixture against Papua New Guinea. The team will then square off against the Netherlands on October 18 in Round 1 of the tournament. Following this, they will take on Sri Lanka and Namibia, on October 20 and 22 respectively. If they end up as one of the top two teams from the group, they will qualify for Super 12.

Ireland squad: Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.

Head Coach: Graham Ford.

Reserve players: Shane Getkate, Graham Kennedy, Barry McCarthy.

Ireland T20 World Cup Important Dates

Pre-T20 World Cup – preparation period

  • 5 October 2021: Ireland v Scotland – warm-up match (Scorecard)
  • 7 October 2021: Ireland v UAE – 1st T20I (scorecard)
  • 8 October 2021: Ireland v UAE – 2nd T20I (ICC Academy Oval 1)
  • 10 October 2021: Ireland v UAE – 3rd T20I (ICC Academy Oval 1)

Official T20 World Cup warm-up matches

  • 12 October 2021: Ireland v Papua New Guinea – warm-up T20I, Abu Dhabi
  • 14 October 2021: Ireland v Bangladesh – warm-up T20I (Abu Dhabi)

T20 World Cup – Round 1

  • 18 October 2021: Ireland v Netherlands (Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
  • 20 October 2021: Ireland v Sri Lanka (Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
  • 22 October 2021: Ireland v Namibia (Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah

The top two teams from Round 1 Group A will go into Group 1 or 2 of the 2nd Stage. Get all the details about the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, 2nd Stage fixtures, venues, latest cricket match updates, latest cricket news here.

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.