sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsCricket set to resume in Bangladesh with a three-team domestic tournament

Cricket set to resume in Bangladesh with a three-team domestic tournament

sponsor banner
ads banner

Cricket will finally recommence in Bangladesh after the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a three-team competition on Wednesday. The tournament will begin from October 11 involving three teams, will also mark the return of the domestic cricket in the country.

In the tournament all the three teams will face each other twice during the league stage, and the top two teams will qualify for the finals.

Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, and Najmul Hossain Shanto will be the captains of three teams in the tournament which will span between October 11-23.

All the players, including the match officials and support staff will be accommodated in the bio-secure bubble during the tournament.

BCB confirmed the absence of the former ODI team skipper Mashrafe Mortaza from the tournament.

“Mashrafe will be playing the T20 tournament but not this one-day tournament,” Nazmul Hassan told ESPN CricInfo.

“It is not that he doesn’t want to play. [But] he has to be quarantined [after having been treated for Covid-19] and will need time to regain fitness,” Hassan added.

Squads for the one-day tournament:

Mahmudullah XI: Mahmudullah (capt), Mohammad Naim, Liton Das (wk), Mominul Haque, Mahmudul Hasan, Nurul Hasan (wk), Sabbir Rahman, Imrul Kayes, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadat Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rakibul Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob.

Najmul XI: Najmul Hossain Shanto (capt), Soumya Sarkar, Saif Hassan, Afif Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Towhid Hridoy, Irfan Sukkur (wk), Parvez Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain, Abu Jayed, Mukidul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Rishad Hossain.

Tamim XI: Tamim Iqbal (capt), Tanzid Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Mithun (wk), Shahadat Hossain, Yasir Ali, Akbar Ali (wk), Anamul Haque (wk), Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Khaled Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Minhajul Abedin Afridi. (ANI)