sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsCWI announces Test and ODI squad for Bangladesh tour

CWI announces Test and ODI squad for Bangladesh tour

sponsor banner
ads banner

Cricket West Indies (CWI), on Tuesday, released the names of the players of the squad that will tour Bangladesh for their upcoming Test and ODI series.

The latest squad has witnessed several maiden call-ups. All-rounder Kavem Hodge has finally got a break in the international forum. He will feature in the Test series. Apart from Hodge, Kyle Mayers and Shane Moseley, who served as reserve players in the touring party of the West Indies team for New Zealand and England, will also make their international debut. Both the players will star in the Test series, Kyle, on the other hand, has got a chance to play in the ODI as well.

The ODI squad has welcomed two debutants, namely, spinner allrounder Akeal Hosein and left-handed top-order batsman Kjorn Ottley.

Several senior players including big names such as Jason Holder, Kieron Pollard, and Darren Bravo have dropped out of the tour.

CWI’s Lead Selector, Roger Harper, does not consider the absence of some of the senior players as a handicap. Instead, he chooses to see the bright side of it, commenting on which he said, “The absence of several more experienced players has certainly provided an opportunity for the left-handed Kjorn Ottley who has had a good Super50 tournament last year. He will be very keen to make his mark.

“Tours of Bangladesh are never easy as they always play well in their own conditions. Although a number of the senior players are missing in both formats, I expect our teams to be very competitive. I expect our players to play with purpose, with passion and with the desire to prove that they belong at this level, Harper stated.

West Indies is scheduled to tour Bangladesh in January for three ODIs and two Tests. The three-match ODI series will be held in Chattogram, while Dhaka will host the Test series, which will form a part of the ICC World test Championship. The three ODIs will form the first matches in West Indies ICC World Cup Super League campaign. The ODIs will serve as an opportunity for the teams to qualify for the ICC World Cup 2023 to be hosted in India.

West Indies will arrive in Dhaka on January 10.The ODI series will take place from January 20-25, while the Test series will commence on February 3 and the second Test concluding on February 15.

West Indies Test Squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Jermaine Blackwood (vice-captain), Nkrumah Bonner, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kavem Hodge, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Shayne Moseley, Veerasammy Permaul, Kemar Roach, Raymon Reifer, Jomel Warrican

West Indies ODI Squad: Jason Mohammed (captain), Sunil Ambris (vice-captain), Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva, Jahmar Hamilton, Chemar Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Andre McCarthy, Kjorn Ottley, Rovman Powell, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.