sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsDavid Warner unlikely to feature at UAE’s International League T20

David Warner unlikely to feature at UAE’s International League T20

sponsor banner
ads banner

Veteran Australian batsman David Warner will likely not participate in the inaugural edition of UAE’s International League T20 (ILT20) that is scheduled to take place in January 2023. Warner will most likely play in the Australian Big Bash League (BBL) for the first time in nine years. He last featured at the BBL in 2013.

Previously, news through published sources had hinted toward Warner’s participation at the ILT20. However, Warner’s manager James Erksine confirmed that Warner is set to sign a potential deal with Cricket Australia (CA) and the Australian Cricketers Association (ACA) to feature at the BBL.

David Warner is bound to a contract with Cricket Australia but hasn’t signed any deal with the organizers of the Big Bash League (BBL). With the cancellation of the South African ODI series in January, Warner will be available to participate in franchise cricket leagues.

Earlier, Warner had also shown his interest to play in Dubai following his IPL franchise’s entry at the ILT20. Delhi Capitals successfully bought a franchise namely Dubai Capitals that will be a part of the ILT20.

Senior Australian cricketers in BBL 2022-23

Along with Warner, stalwart Australian cricketers Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Hazelwood, Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc will also be able to participate in the Big Bash League after Cricket Australia opened a window for the championship.

Cricket Australia (CA) had been aware of the fact that the Australian players who haven’t been contracted with the BBL are being offered $450,000 for their participation at the ILT20. On alert, the apex cricket governing body has started to execute deals with the veterans. Along with Warner, Smith, Cummins and Hazelwood also don’t have a BBL contract.

Meanwhile, T20 specialists Maxwell, Stoinis, Zampa, Finch and Tim David are all under the bracket of BBL franchises and will not shift their attention towards ILT20.

BBL 2022-23 is scheduled to take place from 13th December 2022 to February 4, 2023, whereas ILT20 will take place from 6th January 2023 to 12th February 2023.

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.