sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsENG vs WI T20I series: England name 16-man squad for five-match series

ENG vs WI T20I series: England name 16-man squad for five-match series

sponsor banner
ads banner

ENG vs WI T20I series: England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) released the 16-man squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against West Indies on Thursday. The selectors have called in the likes of Sam Billings, Liam Dawson, Adil Rashid, and James Vince, who are regular features in the T20I squad. The 30-year-old uncapped left-arm seamer David Payne gets a maiden call-up into the team. He was earlier named in England’s ODI squad during the series against Pakistan this year.

Another left-arm pacer George Garton also gets a maiden call-up as a cover of the regular frontline pacers Chris Woakes and Mark Wood. ECB had already announced that the regular bunch of players including Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Chris Woakes, and Mark Wood will miss out as a part of workload management. These players will arrive from Australia just 4-5 days before the first T20I against West Indies.

Earlier this week, ECB also announced that Paul Collingwood would be the head coach of England for the T20I series against West Indies in Barbados.

“We have selected a strong squad with some serious batting power and a balanced attack as we begin preparations ahead of the T20 World Cup in Australia,” Collingwood said after the squad announcement.

“The World Cup is less than a year away and there will be increased opportunities for the squad in the absence of those players who are with the Ashes squad

“I have good memories winning a World Cup in Barbados and I’m really looking forward to going back there with this squad to face a very good West Indies who will test all aspects of our skills,” he added.

ENG vs WI T20I Series (England squad):

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Liam Dawson, George Garton, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Tymal Mills, David Payne, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, James Vince.

ENG vs WI T20I Series schedule:

1st T20I – January 22, 2022

2nd T20I – January 23, 2022

3rd T20I – January 26, 2022

4th T20I – January 29, 2022

5th T20I – January 30, 2022

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.