sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsEngland women squad for Commonwealth Games 2022 & SA T20I series announced

England women squad for Commonwealth Games 2022 & SA T20I series announced

sponsor banner
ads banner

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) revealed the 15-player squad for the Birmingham Commonwealth Games 2022 on Saturday.

The 15 athletes will go down in history as the first cricketers to represent England at the Commonwealth Games.

Teenagers Alice Capsey and Freya Kemp have received their first international calls. While Issy Wong will have the opportunity to represent her country in her hometown. She is being included for the first time in England’s T20 squad.

Head Coach Lisa Keightley said: “We have picked what we think is our best T20 squad. We have got one eye on taking our T20 game forward, but we do believe this squad gives us the best chance of success in the Commonwealth Games – and that’s something to be really excited by.”

Captain Heather Knight said: “It is such a massive opportunity for us and for the game to compete in the Commonwealth Games, especially on home soil.”

“When you are younger you watch these multi-sport events but, as a cricketer, you do not imagine you will be out there representing Team England. It also gives us a brilliant chance to engage some young people in cricket who maybe haven’t played or watched it before.”

The host venue for the Commonwealth Games is Edgbaston.  England’s opening match versus Sri Lanka is scheduled for Saturday, July 30 will be played here. The T20I series between England and South Africa, which begins on Thursday, July 21 at Chelmsford, will include the same 15-man squad.

England Women Cricket squad:

Heather Knight (Western Storm, captain), Maia Bouchier (Southern Vipers), Katherine Brunt (Northern Diamonds), Alice Capsey (South East Stars), Kate Cross (Thunder), Freya Davies (South East Stars), Sophia Dunkley (South East Stars), Sophie Ecclestone (Thunder), Sarah Glenn (Central Sparks), Amy Jones (Central Sparks), Freya Kemp (Southern Vipers), Nat Sciver (Northern Diamonds, vice-captain), Bryony Smith (South East Stars), Issy Wong (Central Sparks), Danni Wyatt (Southern Vipers)

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.