sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021: About, Schedule, Fixtures, Groups, all you...

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021: About, Schedule, Fixtures, Groups, all you need to know

sponsor banner
ads banner
Subscribe to our YouTube channel ‘Buaksib’ to catch up on all the cricket news and cricket centric content on regular basis!

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, also known as the ICC World Twenty20, is an immensely sought-after tournament in the world of cricket. The immensely popular competition, which is usually held every two years, is a fiesta of the shortest format of the game and decides the best team in terms of Twenty20 cricket.

The tournament, which sees 16 teams competing for the title, has been staged six times since its inception in 2007. The inaugural title was bagged by the Indian Cricket Team, which defeated arch-rivals Pakistan in an iconic clash. The current title defenders West Indies has been the most successful team in the global cricket competition so far, winning two ICC Men’s T20 World Cup titles, the only team to win the title multiple times.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 is just around the corner. The tournament was initially planned to be staged in Australia in 2020, however, due to the hit by the unprecedented Covid-19 pandemic, it had to be postponed to 2021. India was supposed to stage the tournament this year, but due to the pandemic crisis in the country, the action of the showpiece event had to be shifted to the UAE and Oman with India retaining the hosting rights.

The highly anticipated contest is now scheduled to begin on 17th October at Oman Cricket Academy Ground. The final of the tournament will be played on 14th November 2021. The perennial tournament of this edition will be taking place in three stages, i.e., Round 1, Super 12, and the knockouts totalling 45 matches.

Round 1 sees the two groups of four teams each participating in a round-robin format. The top two teams of both groups will go to the Super 12 stage.

Super 12 sees two groups of six teams participating in a round-robin format. The top two teams of both the groups will progress into the knockouts, i.e., semi-finals and finals.

There will be no reserve days for the matches, except for the semi-finals and the finals.

Team India are placed in Group 2 of the Super 12 stages along with the likes of, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, second seed Group A, top seed Group B. They will be starting their campaign with a match against Pakistan on 24th October 2021.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 Venue Guide

Dubai International Stadium

The Dubai International Stadium was established in 2009 and has so far hosted the most number of T20 held matches in the United Arab Emirates, successfully hosting 62 matches in the format. It is famous for its ‘ring of fire’, equipped with over 300 floodlights planted around its circumference. It has a spectator capacity of 25000. The stadium was also the venue for the 2018 Asia Cup Final between Bangladesh and India, and the Final of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019.

The Dubai International Stadium would be hosting 13 fixtures of the T20 World Cup 2021.

Sharjah Stadium

UAE’s oldest cricket stadium, Sharjah Stadium hosted its first international match in 1984. It has hosted the most number of international matches (263) in the UAE, which is also the third-most in the world. With constant improvement over the years, it became the home ground for the Afghanistan cricket team for One Day International and First-Class matches and remained so until 2016. The stadium has also hosted the 2018 Blind Cricket World Cup Final.

Having a 62-metre boundary in long on and 58 metres in straight, the stadium has a capacity of 16100. The stadium will host 11 fixtures of the 2021 T20 World Cup.

Sheikh Zayed Stadium

Established in 2004, Abu Dhabi’s Sheikh Zayed Stadium is the second most used stadium for T20I cricket in the UAE. It has staged 48 matches in the format so far. It started off by hosting a first-class match in its inaugural year and went on to host its first international game in 2006. The stadium played host to the qualifying tournament in 2019.

Sheikh Zayed Stadium has a crowd capacity of 20000 and will be hosting 15 matches of the World Cup this year.

Oman Cricket Academy Ground

A fairly new cricket stadium, the Oman Cricket Academy Ground endowed by the late Sultan Qaboos bin Said, opened its doors in 2012. It has hosted 34 international matches so far, 30 T20Is and four ODIs which were part of Cricket World Cup League 2.

The stadium located in Muscat has a capacity of 3000 and will be staging six fixtures of the tournament.

Here’s a look at the Groups involves in Round 1 and Super 12 stages:

Round 1 Stage:

Group A

Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B

Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman 

Super 12 Stage:

Group 1

England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, top seed Group A, second seed Group B

Group 2

India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, second seed Group A, top seed Group B

Schedule of ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

Round 1

17 October: Oman v Papua New Guinea, Muscat (2 pm); Bangladesh v Scotland, Muscat (6 pm)
18 October: Ireland v Netherlands, Abu Dhabi (2 pm); Sri Lanka v Namibia, Abu Dhabi (6 pm)
19 October: Scotland v PNG, Muscat (2 pm); Oman v Bangladesh, Muscat (6 pm)
20 October: Namibia v Netherlands, Abu Dhabi (2 pm); Sri Lanka v Ireland, Abu Dhabi (6 pm)
21 October: Bangladesh v Papua New Guinea, Muscat (2 pm); Oman v Scotland, Muscat (6 pm)
22 October: Namibia v Ireland, Sharjah (2 pm); Sri Lanka v Netherlands, Sharjah (6 pm)

Super 12s

23 October: Australia v South Africa, Abu Dhabi (2 pm); England v West Indies, Dubai (6 pm)
24 October: A1 v B2, Sharjah (2pm); India v Pakistan, Dubai (6pm)
25 October: Afghanistan v B1, Sharjah (6pm)
26 October: South Africa v West Indies, Dubai (2 pm); Pakistan v New Zealand, Sharjah (6 pm)
27 October: England v B2, Abu Dhabi (2 pm); B1 v A2, Abu Dhabi (6 pm)
28 October: Australia v A1, Dubai (6 pm)
29 October: West Indies v B2, Sharjah (2 pm); Pakistan v Afghanistan, Dubai (6 pm)
30 October: South Africa v A1, Sharjah (2 pm); Australia v England, Dubai (6 pm)
31 October: Afghanistan v A2, Abu Dhabi (2 pm); India v New Zealand, Dubai (6 pm)
1 November: England v A1, Sharjah (6 pm)
2 November: South Africa v B2, Abu Dhabi (2 pm); Pakistan v A2, Abu Dhabi (6 pm)
3 November: New Zealand v B1, Dubai (2 pm); India v Afghanistan, Abu Dhabi (6 pm)
4 November: Australia v B2, Dubai (2 pm); West Indies v A1, Abu Dhabi (6 pm)
5 November: New Zealand v A2, Sharjah (2pm); India v B1, Dubai (6pm)
6 November: Australia v West Indies, Abu Dhabi (2 pm); England v South Africa, Sharjah (6 pm)
7 November: New Zealand v Afghanistan, Abu Dhabi (2 pm): Pakistan v B1, Sharjah (6 pm)
8 November: India v A2, Dubai (6 pm)


10 November: Semi-final 1 (A1 v B2), Abu Dhabi (6 pm)
11 November: Semi-final 2 (B1 v A2), Dubai (6 pm)


14 November: Final, Dubai (6 pm)

Stay abreast with all the latest cricket match updates of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, latest cricket news, cricket series updates, and more on MadOverCricket.

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.