sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsIND vs ENG: Day-Night Test to be played at Motera from February...

IND vs ENG: Day-Night Test to be played at Motera from February 24

sponsor banner
ads banner

Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah confirmed England’s four match Test series in February next year. Shah also confirmed that the Day-Night Test match, the first-ever between India and England will be hosted at the newly constructed Motera Stadium.

The four-match Test series will commence from February 7 and will run until the March end in 2021.

“The first Test will start from February 5 and the day-night Test will be played in Ahmedabad at the Motera Stadium from February 24,” said Shah during an inauguration event on Thursday.

Earlier, the BCCI president Sourav Ganguly had said that India will play five T20Is against England considering the upcoming T20 World Cup next year. Even Shah had asserted before that a five Ahmedabad will host five T20I matches.

But Shah confirmed that the series will comprise of four Tests, five ODIs and three T20Is. The schedule of Anthony de Mello Trophy will see England play two Test matches at Chepauk, followed by the final two Tests at Motera.

“The BCCI prioritises health and safety of both teams and will leave no stone unturned to make sure that the tour is held adhering to all safety protocols agreed by the BCCI and ECB medical teams,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said.

“Both Boards have worked closely to put together an exciting series that promises to provide high octane action between two powerhouses of world cricket. This will be India’s first bilateral series at home since the outbreak of COVID-19 pandemic and the home season will bring back joy to cricket fans.” he added.


1st Test – Feb 5 – 9, Chennai

2nd Test – Feb 13 – 17, Chennai

3rd Test – Feb 24 – 28, Ahmedabad (D/N)

4th Test – Mar 4 – 8, Ahmedabad

T20Is: All games at Motera, Ahmedabad

1st T20I – March 12

2nd T20I – March 14

3rd T20I – March 16

4th T20I – March 18

5th T20I – March 20

ODIs: All games at Pune

1st ODI – March 23

2nd ODI – March 26

3rd ODI – March 28