sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsIND vs SL: Shikhar Dhawan dropped from ODI squad, Pandya named Vice...

IND vs SL: Shikhar Dhawan dropped from ODI squad, Pandya named Vice Captain

sponsor banner
ads banner

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Tuesday (December 27) announced India’s T20I and ODI squads for the upcoming series against Sri Lanka. It was already expected that the seniors would miss the series, and players like Hardik Pandya would be the stand-in-captain.

To the surprise, selectors dropped Shikhar Dhawan from the ODI squad, who has been a regular feature in India’s ODI squad. In fact, he was the stand-in captain of the Indian team during the absence of Rohit Sharma.

Dhawan led the Indian team on Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and New Zealand tours. However, in recent times, he has struggled with his form. At the same time, Shubman Gill has chipped in all the opportunities he’s got as an opener.

Dhawan’s last six ODI scores read – 72, 3, 28, 7, 8, 3. Even during the South Africa series at home, the southpaw didn’t seem to be in good form. That might have given impetus to selectors giving more outings to Gill in the ODI squad.

Shikhar Dhawan is no longer in the running for either the Tests or the Twenty20 Internationals. The fact that he has been removed from the One-Day International squad suggests that the southpaw’s career in international cricket may be coming to an end.

It remains to be seen how Dhawan himself responds to having his job eliminated. It’s possible that the selectors have moved on from Dhawan now that there’s less than a year till the ODI World Cup is held in India.

Dhawan’s overall One-Day International (ODI) career has consisted of 167 matches, during which he scored 6793 runs at an average of 44.11, with 17 hundred and 39 fifty-run scores. KL Rahul has been demoted from the role of vice-captain, whereas Hardik Pandya becomes the new captain. This is yet another interesting turn of events. The bad patch that Rahul has been going through for quite some time now continued for him on his trip to Bangladesh, where he did not have a particularly successful outing.

India’s Squad for Sri Lanka Series:

T20I squad: Hardik Pandya (c), Suryakumar Yadav (vc), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson(wk), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar

ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and Indian Cricket Team Updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.