sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsIndia domestic cricket season 2022-23: BCCI announces schedule

India domestic cricket season 2022-23: BCCI announces schedule

sponsor banner
ads banner

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the schedule for India’s domestic cricket season 2022–23 on Monday.

The season will start in the first week of September 2022 and end in the middle of March 2023. It will have more than 1,500 matches.

The season will officially begin with the renowned Duleep Trophy, and the Irani Cup will be back. The Duleep Trophy will take place from September 8 to September 25. Six zones North, South, Central, West, East, and Northeast will compete against one another in a knockout format.  

There will be two categories in the Ranji Trophy, India’s top domestic competition: Elite and Plate. The Elite Group will have 32 teams and be divided into 4 groups of 8 teams. Each team will play 7 games throughout the league stage. Each of the top two teams from the four groups will advance directly to the quarterfinals.

The Plate Group will include six teams and fifteen league games. The top four teams will advance directly to the semifinals, while the bottom two teams will compete for fifth and sixth place. The league games for the Plate League and the Elite Group will both begin on December 13. Both the games will end on February 20 and January 29, respectively.

The Senior Women’s T20 Trophy, which begins on October 11 and ends on November 5, kicks off the women’s calendar. The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is set to take place in South Africa in February 2023. The Senior Women’s Interzonal T20 and T20 Challenger will come next. The Senior Women’s One-Day Trophy and the inter-zonal One-Day will then switch to the 50-over format.

This season, the Senior Women’s Interzonal T20 and one-day competitions have both been reinstated. The Board will hold a U-16 girls’ tournament for the first time in one day. The competition will give the ladies early exposure to competitive cricket and facilitate their transfer to the U-19 level.

The ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup will be held in South Africa in January. The women’s U19 T20 Trophy and women’s U19 T20 Challenger have been set from October 1 to November 7.

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.