sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsIndia Squad for Australia 2023: Surykumar Yadav picked for 1st two Tests,...

India Squad for Australia 2023: Surykumar Yadav picked for 1st two Tests, Bumrah ruled out

sponsor banner
ads banner

Highlights of the squad announcement:

  • Jasprit Bumrah ruled out due to his injury
  • Ishan Kishan gets maiden Test call up
  • Suryakumar Yadav was picked for the first two Tests.
  • KS Bharat to join the team as a Wicketkeeper batter.

AUS vs IND: Ishan Kishan has earned a call-up for the Border-Gavaskar series against Australia. The in-form batting ace, Suryakumar Yadav has also earned a recall to the Test squad for the first two Test matches. The number 1 T20I batter was part of India’s squad for the England tour last year but didn’t play a single game.

The new selection committee included both the in-form batters for the first two Test matches as a major boost to the side’s batting arsenal.

On the other hand, the Indian team suffers a continued blow owing to the absence of Jasprit Bumrah, who played his last Test against England in Birmingham last year. All-rounder, Ravindra Jadeja also comes in the Test squad but his participation would be subject to his fitness.

With the absence of Rishabh Pant, who met an accident last month and now recovering, KS Bharat now replaces him as WK for the series. Pant is set to miss the majority of 2023 owing to his injury and recovery time, however, he will be available by the WTC final if India qualifies.

For bowling, pace trio- Md Shami, Umesh Yadav, and Mohd Siraj will spearhead the fast bowling unit. The selection committee has recalled Jaydev Undakat as the fourth pacer, who bagged three wickets against Bangladesh last month.

Rohit Sharma returns as skipper for the Test series while KL Rahul will also come back from after his marriage as Vice-captain.

The first Test of the Border Gavaskar Test series will take place from February 9-13 at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium.

India Squad for Australia Series:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav

Stay tuned to MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.