sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsIndia Squad for Zimbabwe tour announced; KL Rahul to lead

India Squad for Zimbabwe tour announced; KL Rahul to lead

sponsor banner
ads banner

KL Rahul has been given the all-clear by the BCCI medical staff. This states that he can now be a part of the upcoming three-ODI tour of Zimbabwe. Rahul will be assisted by Shikhar Dhawan, who had been selected captain for the brief visit.

“The BCCI medical team has assessed KL Rahul and cleared him to play in the upcoming three-match ODI series in Zimbabwe. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has appointed him the captain of the side and named Shikhar Dhawan as his deputy,” a BCCI statement said.

KL Rahul has not played any cricket since appearing in the IPL 2022 Eliminator on May 25 in Kolkata. The five-match T20I series against South Africa at home in June was then announced with Rahul serving as captain. However, a right groyne ailment on the eve of the series’ opening game in New Delhi prevented him from playing.  

He had a sports hernia operation in Germany and was also forced to miss the England tour.

Rahul was scheduled to return during India’s T20I series against the West Indies. However he was excluded from the trip to the Caribbean after testing positive for Covid-19 before the tour.

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, and Mohammad Shami, who play regularly for India in ODIs, have all received respite.

The first ODI match versus Zimbabwe will be played on August 18 at the Harare Sports Club. Regis Chakabva, a wicketkeeper and hitter, will captain Zimbabwe against India. On August 20 and 22, Harare will host the second and third ODIs.

Craig Ervine, the team’s regular captain, will miss this series as he continues to recover from a left hamstring rupture. Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara, and Wellington Masakadza will also be absent from Zimbabwe.

India squad for Zimbabwe tour:

KL Rahul (c) Shikhar Dhawan (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.