sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsIndia Women's squad for 2022 World Cup and NZ series released

India Women’s squad for 2022 World Cup and NZ series released

sponsor banner
ads banner

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday announced India Women’s squad for the 2022 World Cup and New Zealand series. Mithali Raj will be lead the side, while Harmanpreet Kaur is named as the vice-captain of the team. The side will play New Zealand for the white-ball series ahead of the showpiece event.

The selectors have left out batter Jemimah Rodrigues as one of the shocking exclusions ahead of the mega-tournament. Shikha Pandey has also been left out of the 15-member squad, while all-rounder Sneh Rana gets included in the squad following her performance in 2021 across all the formats. Ekta Bisht, who was left out of the Indian women’s cricket Annual contract has been named as one of the three standby players alongside Sabbhineni Meghana and Simran Dil Bahadur.

The same squad barring Mithali Raj (who retired from T20Is in 2019) will also play the one-off T20I game against New Zealand which will be led by Harmanpreet Kaur.

The bilateral series against New Zealand women will begin with the only T20I starting February 9, followed by the five-match ODI series from February 11.

Their World Cup campaign will kickstart with the first game against Pakistan women on March 6, followed by the subsequent encounters with New Zealand, West Indies, England, Australia, Bangladesh, and South Africa.

India Women’s squad for 2022 World Cup:

Mithali Raj (c), Harmanpreet Kaur (VC), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (WK), Sneh Rana, Jhulan Goswami, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Rajeshwari, Poonam Yadav

Standby Players: Sabbhineni Meghana, Ekta Bisht, Simran Dil Bahadur

India Women vs New Zealand series schedule:

  • Feb 9th – Only T20I
  • Feb 11th – First ODI
  • Feb 14th – Second ODI
  • Feb 16th – 3rd ODI
  • Feb 22nd – 4th ODI
  • Feb 24th – 5th ODI

Stay tuned to this space for all the latest updates of BBL 2021-22. Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!