sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsIPL 2021 Final: CSK register a clinical 27-run win over KKR to...

IPL 2021 Final: CSK register a clinical 27-run win over KKR to lift their 4th IPL title

sponsor banner
ads banner

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) added another trophy to their cabinet after beating Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in a blockbuster IPL 2021 Final by 27 runs on Friday at Dubai International Cricket Stadium. After making an early exit last year, the Yellow Army made a sensational comeback and lifted their fourth IPL title. CSK were made to bat first after losing the toss. However, despite that, CSK got off to a brilliant start.

The in-form opening pair of Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis stitched another valuable 61-run partnership for the opening wicket. The duo added 50 runs in the powerplay without losing a wicket. Gaikwad made a handy 32 before getting out in the ninth over. Despite losing the wicket, the scoring rate had no effect as CSK looked to up the ante after the halfway mark.

Coming in at number three once again, Robin Uthappa played yet another brilliant 31-run cameo off just 15 deliveries. Faf du Plessis anchored the innings and bat right till the last ball of the innings. He scored 86 runs off 59 deliveries, while Moeen Ali also made a useful contribution of 37 off 20 deliveries. Courtesy of all these contributions, CSK notched a mammoth 192-run total in the first innings.

Venkatesh Iyer and Shubman Gill gave the side a great start and kept the side in the game. The duo added 90 runs in the first 10 overs without losing any wicket. Iyer smashed his fourth half-century off just 31 balls. However, Shardul Thakur applied the brakes with two wickets in the 11th over to get CSK back into the game.

Sunil Narine got out in the very next year and wickets kept falling after that. Shubman Gill’s wicket in the fourteenth over left KKR in a spot of bother. The likes of Eoin Morgan, Dinesh Karthik and Shakib Al Hasan went back without making a significant contribution only to leave the fans disappointed. Lockie Ferguson and Shivam Mavi hit a few boundaries in the end only to delay the inevitable. KKR in the end fell short of 27 runs and lost the IPL 2021 Final to CSK. 

IPL 2021 Final, CSK vs KKR Stats & Facts

  1. CSK lifted its fourth IPL trophy. They won in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021! 
  2. MS Dhoni is now the oldest captain to win an IPL trophy.
  3. MS Dhoni, who was playing his 300th game today, which is the most number of T20 matches played by a captain, has now taken his T20 title wins tally as a captain to seven. This includes four IPL titles, two CLT20 titles, and one T20 World Cup title.
  4. CSK opener Ruturaj Gaikwad became the youngest player to win the Orange Cap in an IPL season. He ended the IPL 2021 season as the highest run-getter with 635 runs under his belt. His highest score being 101* this season.
  5. Ruturaj Gaikwad has hit the most sixes for CSK in IPL 2021: 23.
  6. KKR skipper Eoin Morgan has returned the third worst average in an IPL season (10+ innings). The list includes: 7. 73- Nicholas Pooran (2021), 10.29- Deepak Hooda (2016), 11.08- Eoin Morgan (2021*), 11.20- Praveen Kumar (2008), 11.27- Venu Gopal Rao (2009).
  7. Most partnership runs in a season for KKR: 566 Gautam Gambhir-Robin Uthappa (2016), 533 Gautam Gambhir- Brendon McCullum (2012), 508 Shubman Gill- Venkatesh Iyer, 490 Gautam Gambhir- Robin Uthappa (2014).
  8. Two players scoring 600+ runs in a season for a team: 1. Chris Gayle (708) & Virat Kohli (634) RCB, 2013; 2. Virat Kohli (973) & AB de Villiers (687) RCB, 2016; 3. Ruturaj Gaikwad (635) & Faf du Plessis (633) CSK, 2021.
  9. Most partnerships runs in a season: 1. 939 Virat Kohli- AB de Villiers (2016); 2. 791 David Warner – Jonny Bairstow (2019); 3. 756 R Gaikwad – Faf de Plessis (2021*); 4. 744 Shikhar Dhawan – Prithvi Shaw (2021); 5. 731 Shikhar Dhawan- D Warner (2016).
  10. CSK and Mumbai Indians are the only two teams which have won an IPL trophy in both the UAE and India.
  11. Suresh Raina holds the record of hitting the most sixes in IPL Finals, with 13 sixes in his name. Most Sixes in IPL Finals:- 13- Suresh Raina; 13- Shane Watson; 12- Kieron Pollard; 11- MS Dhoni; 10- Yusuf Pathan.

Brief Scores: Chennai Super Kings 192/3 (Faf du Plessis 86, Moeen Ali 37*; Sunil Narine 2/26) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 165/9 (Shubman Gill 51, Venkatesh Iyer 50; Shardul Thakur 3/38) by 27 runs.

Stay abreast with all the latest cricket match updates of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, latest cricket news, cricket series updates, and more on MadOverCricket.

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.