sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsKF vs GG LPL 2022- Kandy Falcons vs Galle Gladiators, Match 9...

KF vs GG LPL 2022- Kandy Falcons vs Galle Gladiators, Match 9 Preview

sponsor banner
ads banner

KF vs GG LPL 2022: The 9th match of the Lanka Premier League 2022 sees Kandy Falcons take on Galle Gladiators at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. Kande Falcons have been the best team in the tournament thus far. Hasaranga and Co. are currently sitting at the top of the points table with 3 wins in 3 matches.

Their last match against Jaffna Kings turned out to be a nail-biter. The Falcons registered Jaffna Kings to 147 runs in the first innings. Three bowlers, namely Udana, Fabien Allen, and W Hasaranga picked two wickets each for the team.

In reply, the Falcons chased down the target on the last ball of the match. Pathum Nissanka (29 off 29) and K Mendis (19 off 9) helped the team get off to a good start in the power play but they also lost two wickets.

Later, it was Ashen Bandara’s unbeaten knock of 44 runs in 39 balls, which helped the team reach the target. Chamika Karunaratne also deserves credit for his match-defining knock of 26 runs in just 16 balls.

On the other hand, Galle Gladiators have managed to secure only one win out of three matches. But they would be riding high on confidence as the win came in their last match only.

Riding on stellar contributions from Thanuka Dabare (36), Kusal Mendis (39), and Lahiru Udara (45 off 30), Galle Gladiators notched a mammoth score of 174 runs in the first innings.

In reply, they restricted the Stars to just 149 runs, thus winning the game by 25 runs. Wahab Riaz (2 for 21) and Iftikhar Ahmed (2 for 12) turned out to be the pick of the bowlers for the Stars. Heading into the next game, they would be looking to continue the winning momentum.

KF vs GG Squads:

Kandy Falcons:

Pathum Nissanka, Andre Fletcher (wk), Kamindu Mendis, Ashen Bandara, Fabian Allen, Carlos Brathwaite, Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Chamika Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Ashian Daniel, Zahoor Khan

Galle Gladiators:

Thanuka Dabare, Kusal Mendis (c), Azam Khan (wk), Nuwanidu Fernando, Iftikhar Ahmed, Movin Subasingha, Imad Wasim, Pulina Tharanga, Wahab Riaz, Nuwan Pradeep, Nuwan Thushara

Get the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and Lanka Premier League 2022 Updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.