sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsLogan van Beek, Michael Rippon part of New Zealand A squad India...

Logan van Beek, Michael Rippon part of New Zealand A squad India tour

sponsor banner
ads banner

Logan van Beek and Michael Rippon, both of whom have played for both New Zealand and the Netherlands, have been included in the New Zealand A squad for their upcoming tour to India.

Robbie O’Donnell, an Auckland batsman, and Tom Bruce, a powerful New Zealand and Central Districts batsman have been selected as co-captains for the month-long tour. Brendon Donkers will be the assistant coach for Canterbury, and Paul Wiseman, the NZC High-Performance coach. They will join Central Stags head coach Rob Walter in leading the coaching staff.

“It’s great to have A fixtures back on the touring calendar and even more exciting to have the team playing in foreign conditions,” chief selector Gavin Larsen said. “This programme and tours like these are vital in developing our people and giving them opportunities to test themselves against quality opposition.”

The tour includes three first-class games and as many one-day matches. All of the red-ball matches will take place in Bengaluru from September 1 to 18. The white-ball matches will be played between September 22 and September 27 in Chennai. Currently, there isn’t a pink-ball fixture planned. On August 26, the New Zealand A team will fly out to India.

Young, capped players like Mark Chapman, Jacob Duffy, and Dane Cleaver are also included in the squad. They all had successful summer tours in Europe.

“With a mix of red ball and white ball matches it’s a great chance to see the players in a variety of situations against what we know will be a very strong home side,” Larsen said. “The conditions present a great opportunity for the spin bowling group in particular, ahead of future tours and ICC events in the subcontinent.”

New Zealand A squad: Tom Bruce (capt), Robbie O’Donnell (capt), Chad Bowes, Joe Carter, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver (wk), Jacob Duffy, Matt Fisher, Cameron Fletcher (wk), Ben Lister, Rachin Ravindra, Michael Rippon, Sean Solia, Logan van Beek, Joe Walker

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.