sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsMahmudullah dropped as Bangladesh announce squad for T20 World Cup 2022

Mahmudullah dropped as Bangladesh announce squad for T20 World Cup 2022

sponsor banner
ads banner

Bangladesh has come out with its 15-man team for the T20 World Cup 2022. The Cup will take place in Australia later this year in October-November. The major exclusion from the squad is Mahmudullah Riyad.

Mahmudullah hasn’t been in great form for varied reasons. The team director Khaled Mahmud Sujon has stated that the all-rounder hasn’t lived up to expectations in recent months.

Mahmudullah, who was born in Mymensingh, was also fired as Bangladesh’s T20I captain earlier this year.

Sabbir Rahman, who had only played one match in the Asia Cup after making his comeback after three years, was retained in the team.

The Tigers were further boosted as Nurul Hasan Sohan and Liton Das reclaimed their positions after recovering from injuries.

Mahedi Hasan, an all-rounder, competed at the Asia Cup but did not make the roster. He joins left-armer Soumya Sarkar, leg-spinner Rishad Hossain, and left-armer Shoriful Islam on the standby list.

After recovering from injuries, Yasir Ali Chowdhury and Hasan Mahmud were also named to the squad.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) chief Nazmul Hasan Papon recently stated that Bangladesh is focused on the next World Cup, not the current one.

Shakib also stated before the Asia Cup that expecting overnight success in Bangladesh’s T20 setup would be incorrect.

Bangladesh’s first T20 World Cup encounter will be a qualifier on October 24 at Bellerive Oval in Hobart.

Bangladesh did not win a single match at the Super 12 stage of the T20 World Cup in Oman and the UAE (UAE).

Bangladesh T20 World Cup 2022 squad

Shakib Al Hasan (C), Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Liton Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifiddun, Nasum Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Ebadot Hossain, Taskin Ahmed

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!