sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsMeg Lanning returns to Australia's ODI squad for the Pakistan series

Meg Lanning returns to Australia’s ODI squad for the Pakistan series

sponsor banner
ads banner

Meg Lanning, the captain of the Australia Women’s cricket team, has decided to end her “indefinite absence” from the sport and return to international competition. Cricket Australia has announced the 13-player squad that will compete in the upcoming One-Day International series against Pakistan, which will begin on January 16. Lanning will take over as captain of the side, while wicketkeeper-batter Alyssa Healy did not make the cut.

“Meg brings so much to the side both on and off the field,” said Shawn Flegler, the national selector. “It’s pleasing to welcome her back at such an important time with the T20 WC just over a month away.”

After Australia’s victory in the women’s cricket competition at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, England, where the sport was introduced for the first time.  Lanning had stated her intention to take a leave of absence to focus on her personal life.

Healy, who was selected captain for the team’s recent five-match T20I tour of India, sustained a calf injury in game four that will prevent her from participating in Pakistan’s white-ball visit. Beth Mooney, who wore the gloves in Healy’s absence, is anticipated to don them once more, whereas Tahlia McGrath, who led the team in the wicket-keeper’s absence, has been designated Lanning’s deputy for the series.

Jess Jonassen, who had a hamstring injury in India, has been retained in the team and is anticipated to make a full recovery by the time the ICC Women’s ODI Championship 2022-25 begins.

Former Ireland player, Kim Garth, who made her Australia debut in India, and young batter Phoebe Litchfield will also join the squad.

“The Indian series allowed us to try out some fresh talent, and it’s gratifying to retain Kim and Phoebe for this series,” Flegler explained.

However, Heather Graham, Amanda-Jade Wellington, and Grace Harris are not selected. The trio remains eligible for selection for the T20I phase of the trip and the forthcoming T20 World Cup in South Africa, for which the roster is about to be chosen.

Australia Women’s ODI squad for the Pakistan series

Australia squad: Meg Lanning (C), Tahlia McGrath (VC), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Jess Jonassen*, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, JK vs CS live cricket scores, LPL 2022 Finals, and Women’s Cricket Updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.