sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsMohammad Hasnain replaces injured Shaheen Afridi for Asia Cup

Mohammad Hasnain replaces injured Shaheen Afridi for Asia Cup

sponsor banner
ads banner

According to a statement from the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Mohammad Hasnain will replace the injured Shaheen Shah Afridi in the Pakistan team for the forthcoming T20 Asia Cup.

Hasnain will join the team from the United Kingdom, where he is competing in The Hundred for Oval Invincibles.

The 22-year-old bowler has played for Pakistan in 18 T20 Internationals, where he has recorded a 17-wicket haul.

Hasnain has had a difficult few months. His ability to bowl at 150 kph in 2019 while he was still a teenager was what got him quickly added to the Pakistan 50-over World Cup squad. Not everything went as Pakistan had hoped; the young man they dubbed the “new Shoaib Akhtar” was shortly arrested for throwing.

He recovered earlier this year after the ICC suggested action correction work. He later became an immediate hit on the English county circuit. The ICC lifted the ban on him, but the stain of having a questionable action remained.

In The Hundred game, Australia all-rounder Marcus Stoinis indicated Hasnain still had a twisted arm. On his walk to the pavilion, Stonic would imitate a “throw.”

In the meanwhile, early on Tuesday morning, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Usman Qadir will fly to Dubai. They will take the place of the eight players that competed in the 16-person ODI team against the Netherlands. The squad included Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Haris, Salman Ali Agha, and Zahid Mehmood.

Between August 27 and September 11, the United Arab Emirates will host the Asia Cup. On August 28, Pakistan will start their campaign against India, their longtime foe. In contrast, they will play a qualifier (UAE, Kuwait, Singapore, or Hong Kong). It will be played in Sharjah in September for their second Group A match. The Super Four games will be held from September 3 to September 9.

Pakistan squad for Asia Cup 2022:

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.