sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsMohammed Siraj to replace Jasprit Bumrah for remainder SA T20I

Mohammed Siraj to replace Jasprit Bumrah for remainder SA T20I

sponsor banner
ads banner

As per the announcement by BCCI on Friday, pacer Mohammed Siraj is all set to replace Jasprit Bumrah for the final two Twenty20 Internationals against South Africa.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee named Mohammed Siraj as a replacement for injured Jasprit Bumrah for the remainder of the T20I series against South Africa,” BCCI said.

“Bumrah has sustained a back injury and is currently under the supervision of the BCCI Medical Team.”

Siraj has been a part of the Indian squad in five Twenty20 internationals. He played his most recent match against Sri Lanka earlier this year. The pacer, 28, also represented Warwickshire in county cricket.

Bumrah missed the opening T20I match against South Africa on Wednesday. The following day he flew to Bengaluru’s National Cricket Academy to have his back problem examined.

The BCCI decided to remove Bumrah from the first T20I game against South Africa. “Jasprit Bumrah complained of back pain during India’s practice session on Tuesday. The BCCI Medical Team assessed him,” it had said.

Bumrah was also forced to miss the Asia Cup which took place in UAE last month due to the same back issue.

India has a 1-0 lead over South Africa in their three-match series after defeating the world champions Australia 2-1 earlier this month. Prior to the World Cup, their death-overs bowling has raised some questions. In the closing overs, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Arshdeep Singh were spilling runs. India was hoping that Bumrah’s comeback from injury would close the gap.

Jasprit Bumrah not officially ruled out of T20 World Cup

Jasprit Bumrah has not officially been ruled out of the T20 World Cup by the BCCI. If he is ruled out, one of the two T20 WC reserve fast bowlers, Mohammed Shami or Deepak Chahar, is likely to take his place.

Indian squad for South Africa T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Umesh Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohd Siraj

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.