Fakhar Zaman’s controversial run-out decision in the second ODI between South Africa and Pakistan has once again ignited the ‘Spirit of Cricket’ debate. The Pakistan opener played a superb 193-run knock in the second ODI and almost took his side home. However, a clever piece of an act from Quinton de Kock led to Zaman’s breakthrough on the first ball of the final over. It eventually resulted in a victory for the proteas.
In a bid to take the two, Fakhar Zaman ran for the second on the first ball of the last over. While Zaman was running back to the batting crease in a bid to complete the double, Quinton de Kock’s clever gesture forced Zaman to slow down, which eventually led to his run-out.
A lot of cricket pundits put out their opinions on the matter. The Cricket world has got divided since the controversial run-out. The Marylebone Cricket Club has now come forward to explain the rules. Taking to Twitter, the MCC wrote,
“Law 41.5.1 states: It is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball,” MCC tweeted.
In another tweet, it said: “The Law is clear, with the offence being an ATTEMPT to deceive, rather than the batsman actually being deceived. It’s up to the umpires to decide if there was such an attempt. If so, then it’s Not out, 5 Penalty runs + the 2 they ran, and batsmen choose who faces next ball.”
Both sides have won one game apiece in the ongoing three-match ODI series between Pakistan and South Africa. The final ODI will be played on Wednesday at SuperSport Park in Centurion.