sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsNZ vs WI: NZC announces Women’s T20 squad for WI tour

NZ vs WI: NZC announces Women’s T20 squad for WI tour

sponsor banner
ads banner

NZ vs WI: The New Zealand Cricket (NZC) on Thursday announced the women’s squad for the upcoming tour to the Caribbean island. The limited-overs tour will consist of three one-day internationals and a bumper five T-20 international fixtures.

Notably, the pacing duo of Jess Kerr and Molly Penfold have cruised back into the side to make a riveting comeback. The two have been recalled alongside frontline batter Lauren Down who seems to be in exquisite touch.

The trio has been added to the squad as a replacement for Claudia Green, Rosemary Mair and Jess McFayden who were all a part of New Zealand’s bronze medal-winning squad at the Birmingham Commonwealth Games 2022. Unfortunately, their performance didn’t impress the management and they have been left out.

Jess Kerr sustained a foot injury just before the Commonwealth Games and had been advised to rest. Lauren Down had opted to stay out of the squad for the prestigious games to focus on her mental health whereas Molly Penfold has stormed into the squad after a stunning debut against England last month.

Interestingly, Lea Tahuhu has also been named to the squad after a scintillating performance at the Commonwealth Games. Tahuhu was named as a replacement for Kerr. She will strengthen the Kiwi bowling attack alongside Plimmer and Rowe.

New Zealand Women’s Head Coach Ben Sawyer addressed the media after the announcement of the squad. Sawyer said that there is a perfect blend of batters, bowlers and all-rounders and the team is looking forward to sealing the series.

Sawyer also expressed confidence in Kerr, Down and Penfold and said that their addition will boost the morale of the side and derive significant results.

NZ vs WI: NZ Squad

Here is New Zealand Women’s squad for the West Indies tour:

Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, Eden Carson, Lauren Down, Izzy Gaze, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Lea Tahihu, Fran Jonas, Jess Kerr, Amelia Kerr, Molly Penfold, Georgia Plimmer, Hannah Rowe

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more


Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.