sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsNZ W vs BAN W: Jessica McFadyen set for debut in white-ball...

NZ W vs BAN W: Jessica McFadyen set for debut in white-ball series

sponsor banner
ads banner

NZ W vs BAN W: Jess McFadyen, a wicketkeeper-batter from Wellington, could make her debut in the next home series against Bangladesh. McFadyen replaced Izzy Gaze, who’s in India with the U19 team. Only he was added to the West Indies touring squad.

Ben Sawyer believes playing Bangladesh would be a great opportunity for McFadyen ahead of next year’s T20 World Cup.

“Debuting for your nation is a special time, so we’re glad to bring Jess onto the side,” Sawyer added. “Jess’s zeal during the Commonwealth Games pleased me, and she’s a superb middle-order batsman.”

McFadyen, 31, was in New Zealand’s squads for last year’s England tour and this year’s Commonwealth Games but didn’t play.

“We used the West Indies series to test new bat-and-ball combinations, and we want to do the same with wicketkeepers,” Sawyer added.

“We’re also lucky to have a New Zealand Development squad travelling to India with Izzy (Gaze), so we can expose both players to diverse environments and competition.”

McFadyen, who didn’t start at the Commonwealth Games in England, hoped to make the T20 World Cup.

McFadyen said, “Ben went there to see how he wanted to run things and to spend time with world-class players. I’m lucky to train alongside a dozen [Wellington] Blaze guys. I’m lucky to have done those things.

Sophie Devine will lead the T20I and ODI sides, with Lea Tahuhu and Georgia Plimmer in the T20I squad and Hannah Rowe and Molly Penfold in the ODI squad.

This is New Zealand’s penultimate series before next year’s T20 World Cup in South Africa.

“We’ve put together a template of how we want to play, especially in T20, with the World Cup next year in mind,” Sawyer added. This tour will be a great opportunity to tweak those plans.

Christchurch will host the opening T20I against Bangladesh on December 2, followed by Dunedin and Queenstown. The ODIs begin in Wellington on December 11, before Napier and Hamilton. Bangladesh will be visiting New Zealand for the first time since the World Cup in March.

New Zealand Women’s Squad:

Sophie Devine (capt), Suzie Bates, Eden Carson, Lauren Down, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Amelia Kerr, Jess Kerr, Jess McFadyen, Molly Penfold (ODIs only), Hannah Rowe (ODIs only), Georgia Plimmer (T20Is only), Lea Tahuhu (T20Is only)

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and Women’s Cricket Updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.