sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsPakistan announce 15-man squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021

Pakistan announce 15-man squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021

sponsor banner
ads banner

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, scheduled to start from 17th October in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.

Babar Azam will lead the unit, while Shadab Khan will assume the vice-captaincy duties. The squad further consist of notable names like Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim and M Hafeez to name a few.

The PCB have named a 15-member squad via a press conference on Monday. Besides, three players such as Fakhar Zaman, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir were selected as reserves.

Here is the entire squad:

Pakistan’s ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Squad: Babar Azam (c), Asif Ali, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Azam Khan (wk), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Hasnain, Shaheen Shah Afridi.

“Babar Azam will be the captain of the squad while Shadab Khan will be the vice-captain,” Muhammad Wasim said.

Notably, former Pakistan skipper, Sarfaraz Khan has been left out of the squad. Young Azam Khan has been selected over him.

“Azam Khan is an aggressive and attacking batter who also keeps wickets, a combination that has earned him the selectors’ nod ahead of Sarfaraz Ahmed” Chief Selector Muhammad Wasim said.

Pakistan have opted for the same squad for the upcoming five-match T20 series against New Zealand and two-match series against England. Before the start of their World Cup campaign, Pakistan will play five T20 internationals against Pakistan between 25 September and 3rd October. The Men in Green will then play two T20Is against England on 13th and 14th October 2021.

Pakistan will kickstart their T20 World Cup campaign against India on October 24th.

Follow latest news of T20 World Cup on MadOverCricket