sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsPooja Vastrakar ruled out of Australia series due to injury

Pooja Vastrakar ruled out of Australia series due to injury

sponsor banner
ads banner

Ace Indian pacer Pooja Vastrakar has been ruled out of India’s 15-member squad for the upcoming five-match home T20I against Australia after she sustained an injury in the recently concluded Women’s T20 Challenger at Raipur. Vastrakar led India’s C team and displayed an impressive performance throughout the series

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah had earlier announced the squad and confirmed that Pooja has remained unavailable for selection owing to an injury.

Notably, veteran all-rounder, Sneh Rana has been excluded from the squad after a sluggish performance in the domestic circuit. Harleen Deol and Yastika Bhatia have been provided with an opportunity after they were dropped for the England series and subsequently the Asia Cup.

Apart from Sneh Rana, BCCI has also decided to drop Kiran Navgire and Dayalan Hemalatha who were a part of India’s triumphant Asia Cup squad. Devika Vaidya who has been out of the senior side for over four years has been included in the squad and will now align with the team for a vital series. While Devika last made an international appearance for India in 2018, her only T20I fixture dates back to 2014.

Harleen Deol and Yastika Bhatia were in the eyes of the selectors after their stunning performance at the Women’s T20 Challengers Trophy. Harleen smashed a couple of splendid half-centuries whereas Yastika hit impressive knocks of 99 and 80 to steal a victory for her side.

Interestingly, BCCI has also included uncapped Anjali Sarvani in the side who will likely make her debut. Monika Patel, Simran Bahadur, SB Pokharkar and Arundhati Reddy will travel as the net bowlers.

India women’s squad for the Australia series:

Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Renuka Singh Thakur, Harleen Deol, Meghna Singh, Anjali Sarvani, Devika Vaidya, S Meghana, Richa Ghosh

The India-Australia series will kickstart on December 9 at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai and conclude on December 20.

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and Women’s Cricket Updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.