sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsPSL 2023 Player Draft: Heavyweights Miller, Hales, Hasaranga and Rajapaksa picked

PSL 2023 Player Draft: Heavyweights Miller, Hales, Hasaranga and Rajapaksa picked

sponsor banner
ads banner

The eighth season of the much anticipated Pakistan Super League (PSL) is finally around the corner. The PSL 2023 Player Draft has commenced successfully and the veteran T20 stars have been roped in by their desired franchises through an extensive drafting process.

Explosive overseas talent including David Miller, Alex Hales, Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Wanindu Hasaranga were among the player draft’s top picks.

The Player draft kickstarted with the Platinum round with Lahore Qalandars picking the first player. Qalandars opted for the services of frontline batsman Fakhar Zaman whereas Quetta Gladiators picked Hasaranga and Miller was selected by Multan Sultans.

Islamabad United roped in ace English top-order batsman Alex Hales, Karachi Kings opted for Australian wicketkeeper Matthew Wade and Peshawar Zalmi entrusted Bhanuka Rajapaksa to strengthen their batting attack.

The second round geared up with Quetta Gladiators picking the first player in the form of Pakistan’s finest paceman Naseem Shah. Zalmi roped in Caribbean batsman Rovman Powell, and Karachi opted for the services of Proteas spinner Imran Tahir. In contrast, Islamabad pitched in for Afghanistan’s Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Sultans hired Irish paceman Joshua Little.

Since Quetta Gladiators had already retained a couple of platinum players, they were not allowed to pick another platinum player.

The Diamond Round also witnessed some stunning picks by the franchises. Peshawar Zalmi roped in Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Kings bagged James Vince and Fuller whereas Gladiators pitched in Caribbean all-rounder Odean Smith.

The Diamond round was followed by the Gold, Silver and supplementary rounds. All the domestic players also witnessed a splendid response from the franchises. The PSL Season 8 is scheduled to start at the end of January.

PSL 2023 Player Draft Complete Squads

Islamabad United

Alex Hales (England), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (Afghanistan), Shadab Khan (all Platinum), Asif Ali, Fazal Haq Farooqi (Afghanistan), Wasim Jr (all Diamond), Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali (all Gold), Abrar Ahmed Mubasir Khan, Colin Munro (New Zealand), Paul Stirling (Ireland), Rumman Raees, Sohaib Maqsood (all Silver), Hassan Nawaz, Zeeshan Zamir (both Emerging). Moeen Ali (England) and

Karachi Kings

Haider Ali, Imran Tahir (South Africa), Matthew Wade (Australia) (all Platinum), Imad Wasim, James Fuller (New Zealand), Mir Hamza, James Vince (both England) (all Diamond), Andrew Tye (Australia), Mohammad Amir, Shoaib Malik (all Gold), Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Akhlaq, Sharjeel Khan, Tayyab Tahir (all Silver), Irfan Khan Niazi, Qasim Akram (both Emerging). Mohammad Umar and Tabraiz Shamsi (South Africa) (Supplementary)

Lahore Qalandars

Fakhar Zaman, Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Shaheen Shah Afridi (all Platinum), Dawid Wiese (Namibia), Hussain Talat, Haris Rauf (all Diamond), Abdullah Shafique, Liam Dawson (England), S Irfan, Sikander Raza (Zimbabwe) (all Gold), Ahmad Daniyal, Dilbar Hussain, Harry Brook (England), Kamran Ghulam, Mirza Tahir Baig (all Silver), Zaman Khan (both Emerging). Jalat Khan and Jordan Cox (England) (both Supplementary)

Multan Sultans

David Miller (South Africa), Josh Little (Ireland), Mohammad Rizwan (all Platinum), Khushdil Shah, Rilee Rossouw (South Africa), Shan Masood (all Diamond), Akeal Hosein (West Indies), Shahnawaz Dahani, Adil Rashid, Tim David (Australia) (all Gold), Anwar Ali, Sameen Gul, Sarwar Afridi, Usama Mir, Usman Khan (both Silver), Abbas Afridi, Ihsanullah (both Emerging) and Arafat Minhas (Supplementary).

Peshawar Zalmi

Babar Azam, Rovman Powell (West Indies), Bhanuka Rajapaksa (Sri Lanka), (all Platinum), Mujeeb Ur Rehman (Afghanistan), Sherfane Rutherford (West Indies), Wahab Riaz (all Diamond), Arshad Iqbal, Danish Aziz, Mohammad Haris (all Gold), Aamer Jamal, Jimmy Neesham (New Zealand) (Supplementary). Tom Kohler-Cadmore (England), Saim Ayub, Salman Irshad, Usman Qadir (all Silver), Haseebullah Khan, Sufyan Muqeem (both Emerging).

Quetta Gladiators

Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka) (all Platinum), Iftikhar Ahmed, Jason Roy (England), Odean Smith (West Indies) (all Diamond), Ahsan Ali, Mohammad Hasnain, Sarfaraz Ahmed (all Gold), Omair Bin Yousuf (Supplementary), Mohammad Zahid, Naveen-ul-Haq (Afghanistan), Umar Akmal, Umaid Asif, Will Smeed (England) (all Silver), Aimal Khan, Abdul Wahid Bangalzai (both Emerging). Martin Guptill (New Zealand) and

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and PSL 8 Updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.