sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsPunjab Kings Players 2023, PBKS retained players 2023

Punjab Kings Players 2023, PBKS retained players 2023

sponsor banner
ads banner

Punjab Kings went into the auction with the biggest purse i.e., 42.25 crores. They made use of that and outbid everyone to buy the services of Sam Curran for an unbelievable amount of INR 18.50 crores. For a backup option to Liam Livingstone, they acquired the services of Sikandar Raza.

They needed someone to replace Mayank Agarwal at the top but the franchise couldn’t buy anyone despite ending the auction with 12.2 crores still left in the bank. It also means that Shikhar Dhawan could be given the duty to lead the side this year.

Apart from the two big names, the franchise bought some Indian talents such as Harpreet Bhatia, Vidwath Kaverappa, Mohit Rathee, and Shivam Singh (US$ 24,000). Harpreet Bhatia is a talented batter who has impressed in the domestic circuit. He could be used as a backup opener in the squad.

The middle woes could be filled by Sikandar Raza, who can hammer big sixes in the middle overs and can provide a spin bowling option as well. Also, Punjab didn’t get hold of an overseas spinner, who could have strengthened their bowling unit. All in all, they wouldn’t be too happy with how they went about their business at the auction.

Players bought by PBKS with prices in IPL Auction 2023

Sam Curran – ₹18.5 crore

Sikander Raza – ₹50 lakh

Harpreet Bhatia – ₹40 lakh

Vidwath Kaverappa – ₹20 lakh

Mohit Rathee – ₹20 lakh

Shivam Singh – ₹20 lakh

Punjab Kings retained players 2023:

Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Shahrukh Khan, Jonny Bairstow, Prabhsimran Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jitesh Sharma, Raj Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Atharva Taide, Arshdeep Singh, Baltej Singh, Nathan Ellis, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar.

Punjab Kings Squad 2023:

Wicketkeepers: Jonny Bairstow, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jitesh Sharma

Batters: Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Shahrukh Khan, Prabhsimran Singh, Harpreet Singh Bhatia

All-rounders: Raj Bawa, Liam Livingstone, Atharva Taide, Sam Curran, Sikandar Raza, Mohit Rathee, Shivam Singh

Bowlers: Rishi Dhawan, Arshdeep Singh, Baltej Singh, Nathan Ellis, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and IPL 2023 updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.