sponsor banner
sponsor
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsRobin Uthappa applies saliva on ball, accidentally breaches ICC's rule

Robin Uthappa applies saliva on ball, accidentally breaches ICC’s rule

sponsor banner
sponsor
ads banner

Rajasthan Royals batsman Robin Uthappa grabbed the unwanted attention from the viewers during a game against KKR. It was during the third over of the KKR’s inning when Robin Uthappa took the possession of the ball.

After fielding the ball, Uthappa accidentally applied saliva on the ball that is against the rules of ICC due to COVID-19. The ICC had banned the use of saliva on ball due in all forms of cricket to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

At the same time, they permitted the players to shine the ball only with their sweat to aid the bowlers for even competition.

However, Uthappa seemed to have completely got it wrong after he first dropped the catch off Narine’s over and also broke the rule.

As per the new rule, teams will get two warnings from the umpire for the against the use of saliva in an inning. The repeated breach could result in five penalty runs being given to the batting side, the ICC framed.

Kolkata Knight Riders scored 174/6 in the first innings after put into bat first as the batsmen put in collective effort.

The bowlers gave a good start to the KKR as the youngsters Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy and Nagarkoti took a couple of wickets each.

KKR went on to win the match by 37 runs and registered their second win of the season by beating Rajasthan Royals in Dubai.

OTHER CRICKET NEWS