sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsSCO vs STA, BBL12: Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne Stars, Match 20 Preview

SCO vs STA, BBL12: Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne Stars, Match 20 Preview

sponsor banner
ads banner

SCO vs STA: The 20th match of the Big Bash League 2022 will have Perth Scorchers take on Melbourne Stars at Perth Stadium on Thursday. Perth Scorchers continues to dominate this season as well as they have managed to secure 3 wins out of four matches.

The Scorchers are coming into this game on the back of a 3-wicket win over the Adelaide Strikers. The Scorchers restricted the Strikers to just 133 runs in the first innings, thanks to a combined bowling effort from the team.

Andrew Tye was the pick of the bowlers as he claimed three wickets for 30 runs in 4 overs. However, the likes of Ashton Agar (1 for 22), Jhye Richardson (0 for 20), and Behrendorff (1 for 31) were also equally brilliant.

Perth Scorchers did find it hard to chase down the total but in the end, reached home in 19.1 overs with three wickets in hand. The top-three batters, comprising Faf du Plessis, Adam Lyth, and Nick Hobson got out on single-digit scores.

Josh Inglis (19 off 22) and Aaron Finch (22 off 17) couldn’t convert the starts but it was Ashton Turner’s 48 off 38, which helped the team reach home, eventually. Heading into the next game, the Scorchers would be looking to continue the winning momentum.

On the other hand, Melbourne Stars have only managed to secure 1 win out of four matches. Stars wouldn’t be too high on confidence as they had lost their last two matches.

Sydney Sixers thrashed them by 7 wickets in the last match. Riding on an outstanding knock of 78 off 51 from Webster, Melbourne Stars had notched a good-looking score of 150 runs on the board.

Despite that, the Sixers chased it down in 19.1 overs. Luke Wood, Adam Zampa, and Wedster were guilty of not picking wickets in a cluster despite bowling well.

SCO vs STA Playing 11:

Here’s a look at the predicted playing XIs of both teams:

Perth Scorchers

Adam Lyth, Faf du Plessis, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis (wk), Ashton Turner (c), Aaron Hardie, Ashton Agar, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Peter Hatzoglou

Melbourne Stars

Joe Clarke (wk), Thomas Rogers, Beau Webster, Nick Larkin, Hilton Cartwright, Campbell Kellaway, James Seymour, Luke Wood, Liam Hatcher, Trent Boult, Adam Zampa (c).

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and SCO vs STA Live Score on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.