sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsSelectors set to submit over 200 names for inaugural Women's IPL

Selectors set to submit over 200 names for inaugural Women’s IPL

sponsor banner
ads banner

Women’s IPL has been discussed for a while. It should begin in 2023. Five clubs will play in the first WIPL season, according to Cricbuzz. Over 200 names are under consideration for the league’s debut. In the following two days, the BCCI will get the names of 160-170 Indian players and 30-40 overseas players.

Since Roger Binny became BCCI President at this year’s AGM, the Women’s IPL has progressed. When the Women’s Twenty20 World Cup, set for February 2023 in South Africa, concludes, the anticipated date for this event will be March.

The BCCI has tasked the selectors with assembling a roster of female cricketers for the Women’s Indian Premier League at a recent Governing Council meeting. In addition, Cricbuzz reports that the BCCI will soon receive the list of players, which includes around 160–170 Indians and 30–40 foreigners. Five-team tournaments typically require a 15-day timeframe, which might occur between March 7-22, 2023.

Media rights and franchises will be auctioned off before the tournament’s dates are set in stone. Many of the current franchises have shown an interest in forming women’s teams should the competition be launched, including the Chennai Super Kings, the Punjab Kings, and the Kolkata Knight Riders.

Female members of the Blue Forces prepare for an overseas mission in Australia

The Indian women’s squad is currently getting ready for their upcoming five-match Twenty20 International (T20I) series against Australia, which will begin on December 9, 2022. Both the D.Y. Patil Stadium and the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai will host the five matches. Both teams will benefit greatly from the series as they prepare for the next T20 World Cup.

In the previous competition in 2020, India came in second place. After putting up strong performances throughout the league stage, they challenged hosts Australia in the championship match but ultimately fell short. The Harmanpreet Kaur-led squad won the Women’s Asia Cup and placed second at the 2022 Commonwealth Games and would like to reverse those results.

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and Lanka Premier League 2022 Updates on Madovercricket!


Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.