sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsSL vs AFG 2nd ODI, Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan Live Score, Playing...

SL vs AFG 2nd ODI, Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan Live Score, Playing 11

sponsor banner
ads banner

SL vs AFG 2nd ODI: Sri Lanka will be locking horns with Afghanistan in the second ODI of the three-match series on Sunday at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. Afghanistan took a 1-0 lead after beating Bangladesh by 60 runs on Friday.

Riding on an outstanding century from Ibrahim Zadran, Afghanistan scored 294 runs in the first innings. Gurbaz and Zadran provided a solid start to their team as the duo added 84 runs for the opening wicket.

The former got out after scoring 53 runs in 55 balls but Zadran kept scoring boundaries at the other end.  He then added 118 runs with Rahmat for the second wicket to help Afghanistan post a mammoth total on the board.

Rahmat scored 52 runs in 64 balls, while Zadran went on to smack a century. Najibullah also contributed 42 runs in 25 balls, including 5 fours and 1 six. As for Sri Lanka’s bowling attack, W Hasaranga picked two for 42 runs in 10 overs, however, the other bowlers didn’t have a lot of impact with the ball.

Afghanistan batters have been in fine form and this is a massive positive for them. In response to Sri Lanka’s total, Pathum Nissanka played a stellar knock of 85 runs in 83 balls.

But she had little support at the other end as wickets kept falling at short intervals. The likes of Chandimal (14), de Silva (16), Asalanka (10), and Shanaka (16) all were guilty of not converting the starts into big scores.

Sri Lanka had lost half of their side for 137 runs on the board. Wanindu Hasaranga then showed his class with a 46-ball 66 but the Island nation fell 60 runs short in the end. Gulbadin Naib and F Farooqi picked 3 and 4 wickets respectively for Afghanistan in the second innings.

Heading into the next match, Sri Lanka should look to make a strong comeback.

SL vs AFG Playing 11:

Sri Lanka:

Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha


Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Najibullah Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Rahmat Shah, Rashid Khan, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Yamin Ahmadzai

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.