sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsSL vs PAK: Sri Lanka announces squad for the Pakistan Test series

SL vs PAK: Sri Lanka announces squad for the Pakistan Test series

sponsor banner
ads banner

SL vs PAK: Sri Lanka has selected an 18-man squad, in preparation for the two-match Test series against Pakistan. The series is a part of the ICC Men’s World Test Championship Cycle (WTC) 2021–2023. The opening test will take place at the Galle International Cricket Stadium from July 16 to July 20. While the second Test will start on July 24 at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo.

 Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lakshitha Manasinghe, and Chamika Karunaratne are not included in Sri Lanka’s team to face Australia.

In the second Test against Australia in Galle, debutant Prabath Jayasuriya stole the show with 12 wickets. He is quite likely to keep his spot in the starting lineup. Dunith Wellalage has been kept in the team despite not playing against Australia.

Pakistan played a warm-up match with the Sri Lanka Cricket XI at the Colts Cricket Club Ground in Colombo.

Three One Day International (ODI) matches were originally scheduled as part of the tour, but they were dropped in May 2022. This was because they were not a part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League for the years 2020–2023.

Pakistan now stands in fourth place and Sri Lanka is third in the World Test Championship points standings.

SL vs PAK Test squads:

Sri Lanka squad:

Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Pathum Nissanka, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Prabath Jayasuriya, Dunith Wellalage, Jeffrey Vandersay

Pakistan squad:

Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.