sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsSLC announces Sri Lanka’s squad for Asia Cup 2022

SLC announces Sri Lanka’s squad for Asia Cup 2022

sponsor banner
ads banner

After a brief extension in the deadline, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has finally named the nation’s stalwart squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2022 that is scheduled to begin on 27th August. Initially, to be hosted by Sri Lanka, the tournament has been shifted to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) after the deteriorating political situation in the island nation.

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) had earlier granted an extension to Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in order to announce their squads due to contingent issues.

Sri Lanka will be led by their regular captain Dasun Shanka who will aim to seal the Asian triumph after a brief period. Shanka will be supported by Charith Asalanka who will serve as the vice-captain.

SLC has opted for an opulent all-round side with a perfect mixture of batsmen, bowlers, pacers and spinners. A blend of terrific all-rounders will just boost Sri Lanka’s motivation to conquer the title and assert its dominance over the world’s largest continent.

Interestingly, Binura Fernando and Kasun Rajitha have been excluded from the squad after being named initially. The two sustained injuries at the ongoing SLC Invitational T-20 League and have been replaced by Asitha Fernando and Pramod Madushan.

Notably, uncapped left-arm spinner Dilshan Madushanka has also been named in the squad whereas Ashen Bandara, who last played a T-20I for Sri Lanka against India in 2021 has also found his space in the resilient squad.

Sri Lanka will likely master their performance at the Asia Cup T-20 with the intuitive form of Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Wanindu Hasaranga, Jefferey Vanderay and Chamika Karunaratne who have performed stupendously in the ongoing season.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup 2022 Full Squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Ashen Bandara, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera

Follow MadOverCricket for the latest cricket news, cricket match updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and more!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.