sponsor banner
ads banner
HomeCricket NewsSourav Ganguly set to join Delhi Capitals as Director of Cricket

Sourav Ganguly set to join Delhi Capitals as Director of Cricket

sponsor banner
ads banner

Veteran Indian all-rounder and former BCCI President, Sourav Ganguly has announced to return in cricketing setup as he will take charge as the Director of Cricket for IPL franchise Delhi Capitals. Ganguly served as the BCCI President for a brief period of two years from 2019-2022. After his tenure got completed, Ganguly remained distant from the field for three months and is now set to finally hit the deck.

Sourav Ganguly had previously served as the Mentor of Delhi Capitals until 2019 post when he voluntarily vacated the position to take up as the head of BCCI. Ganguly will now lead all the operations of the JSW-GMR-owned franchise and take all the major decisions for Delhi Capitals.

Notably, Sourav Ganguly will now join hands with his most fierce competitive rival Ricky Ponting who is the Head Coach of Delhi Capitals. Though Ganguly will not interfere in the matters of support staff, he will be the extreme authority to take all the major decisions related to Delhi Capitals affairs. It is also learnt that Delhi’s auction picks also attracted the combined nod of Ganguly and Ponting.

Ganguly’s appointment awaits a major decision that Delhi Capitals will be keen to announce. DC skipper Rishabh Pant met a horrific car accident last week and will likely remain unavailable for IPL 2023. With this, Ganguly and Ponting will likely synergize to ascertain the future captain.

Australian batsman David Warner is undisputedly the frontrunner to claim the position, given his paramount experience and numerous stints as captain. Veteran Indian batsman Manish Pandey is a significant choice but his new association with the franchise may hinder his appointment.

Capitals will also aim to go ahead with a strong backup wicketkeeper. They already have Phil Salt in the squad but he will likely fill in an additional overseas spot.

Delhi Capitals squad for IPL 2023:

Rishabh Pant (c), David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Mitchell Marsh, Manish Pandey, Rilee Roussow, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Aman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Praveen Dubey, Vicky Ostwal, Ishant Sharma, Phil Salt, Mukesh Kumar.

Catch up with the latest cricket newsCricket rankings, ball-to-ball updates, live cricket scores, cricket series updates, and IPL 2023 updates on Madovercricket!

Pratik Pathak
Pratik Pathakhttps://madovercricket.com/
A full-time learner and a part-time writer. Been unwavering myself to give my share of knowledge on cricket as well as different sports. A web series aficionado and a perennial Breaking Bad and Sherlock admirer.